I’m on a Road

… to nowhere… eerr… fitness. (now try to get that Talking Heads song out of your head!)

It has been nearly 6 weeks since giving birth and I am all about getting back into shape. It didn’t help that yesterday on an outing with my mom, she pointed out that I still have a slight “belly” and that I really need to exercise. Ouch.

I’m not one to toot my own horn but I think I look pretty damn good for having given birth recently. I gained a total of 23 lbs during my pregnancy and have already dropped 18 of those lbs. 2 weeks after giving birth (when I was brave enough to step on the scale), I had dropped 12 lbs. 6 lbs have come off from breastfeeding alone. Breastfeeding burns a good chunk of calories although my insatiable appetite probably just balances it out.

But – I am a person that likes to be fit. And I’m also too cheap (and too egotistical) to buy a bigger sized pant. Right now this is my mom uniform:

(sorry for the grainy quality – I’m still trying to figure out our new point & shoot camera and the image ended up being too dark so I just increased the brightness through Photoshop).

My mom uniform consists of:

  • leggings (thank god they’re in style! I love elastic waist bands)
  • a nursing tank top (I own 5 of them and they’re all from Target)
  • a long cardigan (most of the ones I have are from Old Navy that I scored on sale recently. So I have 4 of the same cardigan in different colors plus I have some others that I’ve always had on hand)

I’m quite comfortable in my mom uniform and I don’t think I look super schlubby.

I tried on a pair of my jeans 4 weeks ago and they wouldn’t even zip up (cue some slight crying). Then I tried them on again about 2 weeks ago and they zipped up but the muffin top was criminal. I haven’t tried them on since because I don’t think my ego can handle it.

So – I’m on a road to fitness. After giving birth, you are advised not to start working out until 4-6 weeks postpartum. While I did feel pretty good after 2 weeks, I wasn’t really able to go for long walks without feeling some slight pain down south. I also missed out on the opportunity to go for lots of walks due to the crummy chilly weather (I’ve decided I’m going to try to time the next pregnancy, if we want more children, around the warmer seasons).

At the beginning of the month, my husband suggested we give P90x another go. This meant I’d be getting up at 5:15am during the work week so we could work out together. That wasn’t very appealing BUT I thought it would help me get used to getting up super early again for when I have to go back to work.

I’m not following P90x to the letter anymore. In fact, if I don’t work out with the husband, I’m not doing it on my own (so this means I’m not doing the Plyometrics or Yoga). This is mostly because I have to balance my time carefully with a napping baby, eating, showering, cleaning, etc. I’d rather not lose out on one of those things to do cardio.

Luckily, the weather has been getting warmer so I’ve been going on more walks (and this makes the dogs VERY happy as well). Since walking, I’ve dropped an additional 1-2 lbs (it fluctuates based on when I poop… and yes, I just went there).

I signed up for a 6k race in Baltimore (Port to Fort) that takes place on April 10th. I mostly signed up to support my good friend, Eludius. His 3 yr old daughter was recently diagnosed with leukemia and the organization behind this race (Believe in Tomorrow) has provided some amazing support to his family. (And if you’re feeling generous, you can donate to our team here).

I am determined to RUN this race. I’ve run this race in the past and really enjoyed it. I’d like to RUN it again (and this is definitely an ego thing). But I haven’t run at all in the last 8 weeks! This weekend will be my first attempt at running and I hope I don’t die. I kept up with running jogging until I was 38 weeks pregnant! Although I was SLOW, I was able to jog for 30-35 minutes. Hopefully this means I haven’ t lost too much fitness.

And did I mention that I’m determined to fit back into my pre-pregnancy pants? So, to keep things totally open and honest on this blog – I will show you my current belly.

I know it isn’t completely flat and I recognize that I have a slight pooch… but let’s consider that I looked like this just 6 weeks ago:

(actually – that was 8 weeks ago. I can’t find a 40 week belly picture right now)

Okay – nevermind, I DID find a 40 week belly picture and this was actually taken on the night I went into labor. It isn’t necessarily a good angle for comparison but you can definitely see that my belly is HUGE. It is still weird to me to think that Annmarie was IN IT.

I think Emily sensed something big was about to happen because she was extra cuddly that night.

So – I think by blogging about this, I might actually commit to this whole fitness get back into my pre-pregnancy pants things.

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds, Charm City Kim Runs

10 responses to “I’m on a Road

  1. More power to ya. I’ve still got 6 or 7 pounds to go (depending on if I’ve pooped) and I’m 5 months pp. I gained like 35 or 40 lbs though. I kind of half attempt P90X every once in awhile but it’s hiking and walking that have kept me from becoming a blob. Luckily for my ass, sometimes walking is the only thing that will calm a fussy baby!

    http://thegnomesmom.com/

  2. Meredith

    You really look fantastic! No one would guess you had a baby a mere 6 weeks ago.

    Can I run the Port to Fort with your team? I’ve never done that one but it looks like a fun race and I’ve been trying to up my workouts so this will be a good one!

  3. Stephanie

    You look fan freaking tastic! I am so nervous about gaining weight since I was so heavy before that I keep checking the scale as it begins it’s upward journey. I am impressed that you were able to wait two weeks before weighing yourself!

  4. Amber

    Um…I’m pretty sure that right now you have a nicer stomach than more than half of the people we went to high school with regardless of whether they’ve had children.

  5. Sarah

    Kim- You look fantastic! I had to comment because I can’t believe how you bounced right back. Good for you for getting back on board with fitness!!!!

  6. Girlfriend you look great! You’re a stunning mama.

  7. You look amazing–and hello! you just had a kid! of course you’re gonna have some belly. It will go away in due time.

  8. You look amazing! For anyone to suggest otherwise is crazy. You’re body has experience the most amazing event life has to offer and to only be holding on to a few pounds more than pre-baby, that is pretty amazing.

  9. 1) Yes, you have a little pooch, but it’s cute on you.

    2) I always wondered if right after giving birth your belly deflates like a beach ball after you open the little stopper.

    3) I have no doubt you’ll be back and kicking ass shortly. After all, you’re super woman, remember?

  10. Pingback: Fitness and Fashion Friday | Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

