Fitness & Fashion Friday

I’m proud to say that I’m still keeping up my commitment to run 3 times a week (along with P90x 3 times a week).  Due to doctor’s appointments, Jeremy’s class schedule and incliment weather – I ran the following:

- Saturday:  Because Jeremy didn’t have class that day and the weather forecast was calling for a wintery mix on Sunday, I went for a run before my hectic shower hosting duties.  I ran along the Inner Harbor again (one of my favorite paths).  Even though I had the Garmin with me, I decided not to obsess over the mileage throughout the run.  Instead I decided I’d run through 10 songs on my iPod.  When I got to the 10th song, I checked the Garmin and was shocked that I ran a 6k with an average pace 10 seconds faster than my last run (but it is still quite slow).

- Tuesday:  I had a dentist appointment because I had swallowed my temporary crown (I swallowed it at the baby shower I hosted over the weekend!).  Since the dentist is located by my parents’ house, I thought I’d take advantage of having my mom watch Annmarie and try to squeeze in a run.  I prefer to run outdoors over a treadmill so I ran around my parents’ (and my childhood) neighborhood.  I didn’t time eating and nursing well so when I ran, I felt pretty drained.  I was only able to run 2.5 miles (with rolling hills!) and walked an additional mile.  I prayed that I wouldn’t see anyone I grew up with while doing so.  I grew up in an area where most of the people still live around that way (and going to a local bar IN A SHOPPING MALL will guarantee a mini high school reunion).  I just didn’t want to appear as though I am (1) unemployed (2) still live with my parents and (3) that I am grossly out of shape.  A part of my running path also took me by an ex-boyfriend’s parents’ house and I hoped to not see his mom (although I doubt she’d even recognize me.  Its been 10 years.  Still – you never know… and I didn’t want to appear like a stalker).

Thursday – crap weather forced me indoors.  I ran on a 5k on a treadmill.

I’m trying not to focus on my weight.  I’ve been holding pretty steady at a number (that I’d like to see 5 lbs lower).  But since I’m back in my pre-pregnancy pants, I’m thinking it might be water weight or something related to breastfeeding.  Jeremy noted this morning that my belly has gone down over the last 2 weeks.

I’m still eating like garbage but not nearly as bad as I was the first month of motherhood.  I’ve been thinking about going back to my mostly vegan diet.  Pregnancy brought on an intense craving for cheese and I’d like to cut that out again. 

Now onto the fashion piece.  I’m a shop-a-holic.  I love clothes.  While I’m trying to be more mindful of spending money on frivolous things (especially since I’m now entering the upaid portion of my maternity leave) but I can’t help it.  I subscribe to all of these shopping sites.  I subscribe to fashion magazines.  It is like cute spring clothes are calling my name.

However, the worst part?  I now look to see if the shirts or dresses can accommodate nursing!  UGH.  But most of the super cute stuff doesn’t really accommodate nursing.  What to do?  (Jeremy is probably thankful that I’m not buying stuff if I don’t think it’ll work well with nursing).  I really like the whole nautical spring trend right now (cute striped tees, boat shoes, etc.).  I also love maxi dresses but worry that they’ll look a bit maternity-ish on me.

What trends are you loving right now?

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs, Charm City Kim Shops

2 responses to “Fitness & Fashion Friday

  1. Baby steps, pretty girl! Considering you popped a small human being out of your vagina less than two months ago, I think you’re doing pretty damn well!

    I’m afraid I’m a bit out of touch with what’s the newest and hottest trend of the moment. It’s what happens when your work uniform consists of the same black jeans and black polo day after day!

  2. Seeing your times I decided to go to coolrunning.com (http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/4/4_1/96.shtml) to calculate my pace from my run today. I ran a 9:20 mile pace. That’s about 29 minutes for a 5K. Not my best time, but I’m hauling 20 more pounds than I was when I ran a 27 minute 5k.

    Anyway, I think you’re doing a fantastic job. Keep it up! See you at the Port to Fort 6K!!!

Leave a Reply

