The Countdown Begins (Returning to Work Soon)

I have less than one month left on my maternity leave.  While I oftentimes tell people that I think my lack of adult interaction has turned my brain to mush – I can’t stand the idea of returning to work.  I didn’t think I’d be one of those weeping moms (and I wasn’t when Annmarie got her 2 month immunizations and screamed like I’ve never heard her scream before), but the idea of me potentially missing a bunch of her “firsts” really breaks me heart.

And then I’m plagued with other crazy questions like…

(1) Will she love her daycare provider more than me?  Will she confuse her as her mom?

(2) Will the daycare provider actually do a substantial amount of tummy time with her or will she just stick her in a swing or bouncy chair all day?  I’ve recently become obsessed with flat head syndrome.  I’ve seen a number of babies recently with some very large flat spots on their heads and unless the baby has a medical condition that keeps them on their backs, I worry when I see these in other babies.  At a shower, I saw a little boy whose head was totally flat in the back and as far as I knew of this baby – he was perfectly healthy.  So how did that happen and how can I prevent it?   At Annie’s 2 month visit, the pediatrician noted that she had “mild flatness” but said it as a completely normal “don’t freak out” thing.  But I’m sort of freaking out.  And she’s recently started hating tummy time so this is tough.

(3) What if the daycare provider is mean to Annie?  How will I know this?  I imagine watching a couple of babies is difficult.  What if she’s mean to her? 

I realize I’m crazy.  I think I’m just starting to feel an overwhelming sense of guilt.  Is that what motherhood is about?  Constant guilt? 

I’ll tell you another thing motherhood has brought out in me.  Cheapness.  I went to a local flea market/consignment sale type of event for children’s gear (TotSwap).  While I was digging through baby girl clothes, I was appalled that people were asking for anything above $5 for USED clothing.  I saw the cutest (and dorkiest / potential blackmail material for when Annie gets older) little sailor girl dress but it was priced at $8.  It was used!  Jeremy accused me of being cheap and I realized that I totally am when it comes to baby clothes.  It probably doesn’t help that I’m currently on unpaid maternity leave.

Whoa – this post is a little ramble-y, isn’t it?  Here’s my last ramble for today.  I watched both Tron movies this weekend.  I’m not into these types of movies by any means but it was funny to see how different special effects have become since 1982.  The original Tron was SO bad and they really tried to sexy-fy and update the sequel in some hip-modern way that it also seemed corny to me.  What the sequel really lacked was Tron Guy.  I wonder how bad special effects of today will look in 30 years?  Will our kids laugh at how lame our movies are?

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds, Charm City Kim Rambles

2 responses to “The Countdown Begins (Returning to Work Soon)

  1. I fear that if I ever take a maternity leave, I won’t be able to return to work. I don’t blame you at all!

  2. Believe it or not, this is an area in which I actually have a little expertise. My mother was a daycare provider for over 20 years, and she was friends with many local daycare providers. I should state for the record that all of my experience is with smaller family daycares, and so lies my bias, so take it for what it’s worth. So here are my thoughts:

    1) Don’t worry about Annmarie confusing the daycare provider for her mother. Even kids who are in daycare from the time they’re babies know the difference between mommy and daycare. That being said, she may grow attached to her provider, but as a sort of an aunt-type person. She will never confuse anyone for her mommy.

    2) I’m making the assumption that “tummy time” means letting the baby spend time playing on her belly. I’m sure that if you communicate this wish to the provider, they’d be more than happy to make it happen. That being said, one of the advantages to a family daycare (vs a daycare center) is that they will usually be smaller, with fewer kids, meaning that the provider can afford more one on one attention based on what Annmarie needs.

    3) Of course, there are exceptions, but generally people don’t become daycare providers don’t get into the business if they don’t like kids. It’s an exhausting business that doesn’t pay for shit, so they’re usually doing it for the love of kids. Also, it’s very hard to be mean to a baby. I mean, really, who could look at those little eyes and be mean to her? And remember, just as Annmarie will become attached to the provider, the provider will become attached to Annmarie. (Assuming she has a soul.) Some of the kids my mom sat for from the time they were babies I loved like my own family.

    Hope I made you feel even the teeniest bit better!

Leave a Reply

