Back to the Grind

** Yarg!  WordPress ate most of this post so I had to reblog it… but I’m tired so this is a much shorter version than what I originally wrote.  Sorry! **

Today was my first day back at work.  While I was a bit weepy all morning – I didn’t bawl my eyes out like I thought I would.  I will say, however, that I got to work 45 minutes later than I intended.  Having a baby and getting everything prepped is extremely time consuming.

And while it felt weird to be back at work – it also almost felt like I wasn’t gone for 3 months.  The office still felt the same.

I surrounded myself with pictures of Annmarie.  I soaked in all of the compliments from co-workers telling me that I didn’t even look like I had a baby (I worked hard to get back to my prepregnancy size so I will happily accept these compliments!).  But the best part of the day was the receiving several text message updates from my daycare provider.

I received this one around 9am:

“She is so good, just fell asleep.  She was a little bit fussy and I had to change her diaper and give her a bottle.”

Then around 11am:

“Just woke up 1/2 hour ago… now just chill’n” followed by, “She is very good and didn’t cry when she woke up.”

Lastly around 1:15pm:

“She cried for the last 10 minutes and now she is asleep.”

As lame as this may be – these texts and pictures got me through the day.  I was happy that Annie seemed to be doing just fine.  I chuckled at the pictures (I love that she has the same sleeping pose and obviously had to change outfits at least once).

I’m just hoping that the guilt I feel will go away soon.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

6 responses to “Back to the Grind

  1. Glad you made it through your first day back. Wish I would have had more time to play email tag with you.

  2. That’s so nice that your daycare provider sends pics and updates! Glad you made it through your first day back!

  3. I love that she’s sleeping in exactly the same position each time.

  4. Jaime

    I think it’s awesome they sent you text updates. Hang in there, it will get a little bit easier. And congrats on getting back to your pre pregnancy weight!

  5. megan

    Its a good day when Harrison actually comes home in the outfit I sent him in :)

  6. That’s so great that your provider sends you updates during the day! It seems like you found a provider that is really considerate of your worries. (Also? Totally digging her little ballerina socks!)

Leave a Reply

