Mother’s Day, Schmother’s Day

I’ve dropped the ball twice already with my commitment to blog every Monday, Wednesday and Friday. I need to get back on track!

This is a late post on my first Mother’s Day.

To sum up the day… it was okay. I think I had high expectations for the day and it really just ended up being like any other day (except that I got flowers and breakfast made for me).

My high expectations stemmed from the following:

  • it was my FIRST Mother’s Day
  • it was my last day before I returned to work
  • Jeremy is known to be a really thoughtful gift-giver
  • I never got a push present (haha… I learned of these right around the time I gave birth and thought, “I have another reason to get a gift? Sweet!” I joked with Jeremy that he was supposed to buy me something and he pointed out that his gift to me was the baby. Um, really?)

I started the morning by nursing Annmarie. I then headed out for a quick run along the harbor. Jeremy made blueberry belgium waffles and then headed to the grocery store. I knew he was going to come back with flowers and a card. It is his M.O. And as one dad pointed out to me, “what did you expect? You can’t buy flowers ahead of time. Where would you hide them?”

While he was gone, I started the laundry, cleaned the bathroom and sweeped the kitchen, dining room and living room floors. Since becoming a mom and staying at home for 3 months – I became CRAZY about the crumbs, dust, dog hair, dirt, etc. that would somehow end up on my floor ALL THE TIME. I was sweeping up like crazy nearly every day.

Jeremy came back with a tulips, a bottle of wine and a card from him and another card from Annmarie. He then suggested that we just take a stroll around the Inner Harbor for a bit and then follow it with a long walk in the park with the dogs.

Since we were hitting up the Inner Harbor, I used a Barnes & Noble gift card to purchase:
Super Baby Food (since we can introduce Annie to solids soon)

Moo Baa La La La (since I was already getting sick of some of the books we have)

After B&N, we hit up Urban Outfitters because I had about $60 worth of gift cards to spend (from Christmas and my birthday). I purchased 2 tunics (with wide collars for nursing!) and a casual cotton dress. Nothing exciting or worth snapping a photo of.

Here’s me & Annie at the Inner Harbor. Since I’m still concerned about her getting a flat head, I try to carry her around as much as possible.
Mother's Day

We then went home to grab the dogs and headed to the nearby park. At this point, my back was aching from carrying my super cute but very heavy baby around.
(I love this picture because she’s trying to get the pacifier back in her mouth – it is probably mean that I didn’t just help her but instead snapped a photo)
Trying to get that pacifier

At this point, it was late afternoon. I kept waiting for Jeremy to present me with some sort of sentimental gift. And nothing. I would have even been a little happier had he cleaned the house!

Finally I told him that I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get anything. And yes, this probably makes me seem like a selfish jerk. But the day just felt so ordinary and I wanted something a bit extraordinary for my first Mother’s Day / last day of maternity leave.

He was helpful with washing all of the bottles and getting everything ready for our first trip to the daycare but I think this is something that ALL FATHERS SHOULD DO.

I’m sure I’m coming off as a wee bit selfish and bitchy – but I’m just being honest. So fellas – if the next Mother’s Day is going to be your lady’s FIRST, I highly suggest you make a big deal out of it.

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds, Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “Mother’s Day, Schmother’s Day

  1. Shanee

    Sorry your Mother’s Day wasn’t as festive as you imagined. I can totally relate to that. I also want to say your baby is so cute! I’m so excited for you. I did see you mentioned you’re back was hurting and I see you’re wearing a moby wrap (or lookalike). Anyways don’t be afraid to tighten that thing. She should probably be sitting a lil bit higher. I have one and wore my 1 yr old around IKEA for an entire day. And I have a bad back. LOL. Anyways hope work is treating you nicely. ;)

  2. Traci

    I had kind of a similar experience and also felt bad about wanting more. I was hinting like crazy that I wanted a piece of jewelry with either Kolton’s birth stone or initial. I even left a Red Envelope magazine out to the perfect page and I swear Mike even commented on it. On Friday when I realized he had not ordered anything I was kind of bummed. So now the pressure is on for Father’s Day!

  3. Mary

    I don’t think you sound selfish at all! When Junes rolls around, I’m sure he’ll expect something thoughtful, something to make the day stand out a bit. (At least I know my finance will!) I just had my 3rd Mother’s Day and I’m 1/3 for the day being special, in a good way. My first, I thought I’d strangle my fiance, the 2nd he proposed and this last one started with my brother having a seizure in the morning. Not cool. Not cool at all. So here’s to hoping that next year will be super special for mommas all around! :) P.S. Annie is absolutely adorable!

  4. I think your feelings are valid!

    On my first mother’s day, I declared a purse I bought for myself as my gift, but then Brent still surprised me with a small piece of jewelry. Maybe ‘cuz I’d been talking up the holiday for months weeks.

  5. I’m not sure how I’d feel since I’m not a mother yet. But I think it’s totally valid that you were expecting a little more. Maybe Jeremy will go big next year to compensate.

  6. I feel that way about pretty much every secondary holiday. (Meaning not Christmas or Thanksgiving.) We can’t all just go to work and do laundry and load the dishwasher like usual. It’s a fucking holiday for chrissake!

    Also, if dust and dog hair are driving you nuts you should get a Roomba. We run ours everyday and it does a really good job of keeping the cat hair under control. I’m just saying, Jeremy, 4th of July is coming up…

  7. Quinn

    At least you got that – I didn’t even get a Happy Mother’s Day, and it wasn’t because he forgot. He just didn’t feel the need. Quarters added to the divorce jar? Oh, yes :) But, Happy Belated First Mother’s Day to you! She keeps getting cuter!

  8. I think your feelings are definitely valid. You’re a first time mother and that is really something spectacular and should be celebrated. Look at all you’ve accomplished in the past year preparing to be a mother and learning as a new mom. That’s no small feat.

    Of course, I’m not a mom, but I have imagined having a loving man in my life that I chose to start a family with being so thankful to him and for him for being the man to share my life and my dreams with and for being a great father and I imagine I’d want to show him that I am thankful for him. I think it goes both ways. Like him looking me in the eye and telling me how he’s so thankful to have me as his wife and the mother of his child and wanting to do something special for me because of it. But, alas, I am a hopeful romantic at heart.

    Happy belated Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

