Poor Petie (My furry child)

So on top of feeling like a total crap mom the other week, we got some bad news a few days later about our other child… the one covered in fur. Actually – we have 2 of those (Petie & Emily) but we got news on Petie.

Since I returned to work, we hadn’t been walking the dogs much. With a somewhat early-ish bedtime established, it was tough to go for a walk after work with the dogs like we used to (pre-baby).

A couple of weeks ago, I decided that we should walk the dogs early in the morning on the weekends. Jeremy and I typically run in the morning (we switch who runs on what day… we haven’t taken Annmarie out in the jogging stroller for an actual jog yet). After our runs, we would take the dogs for a walk. The dogs seemed happy.

Last week, Petie developed a terrible cough after a walk. We had assumed that he had maybe eaten something and it got caught in his throat. The coughing persisted all day and through the night.

Jeremy took Petie to the vet the next morning.

The vet said that coughs are usually associated with the heart and given Petie’s age (he’s 14!), that it was likely the case. She listened to his heart and said he had a terrible murmur.

She did an x-ray on Petie and also discovered that his trachea is collapsing! That is the cause of his coughs. She didn’t seem to indicate that it would collapse completely and that this could be tied to his old age.

But the heart and trachea? She attributed it to “overexertion”. So those long walks that we thought he was enjoying? Yeah – apparently we were doing more harm than good.

Petie is at the vet’s office today getting an ultrasound on his heart. I am really hoping for some good news because Petie has definitely lost the pep in his step this past week and it is a sad sight.

I usually chuckle when I see dog owners pushing their dogs in strollers but you know what? I will totally be that owner.  I’m not ready to say goodbye to Petie and I don’t think he’d be happy being confined in the house 24/7.

So anywho – here’s a little photo post of Petie just because I’m feeling sentimental…

Petie

Scoping for cats
Petie scoping for cats

Barking at the TV
Petie watching TV

Bored at home
Petie is bored

Snuggling under a blanket with his best buddy
Dog love

I’ll just call this series of photos “Petie loves to lick Annmarie”
Crabby Bottom
Everyone is a model
Petie is bold
Imitation
Petie saying hi
Annmarie 143
Annmarie 132

Aw, buddy… I hope you’re okay.
Petie

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “Poor Petie (My furry child)

  1. Hope you’re ok little Petie!

  2. Sarah

    Poor Petie! I hope he’s ok!

  3. Melissa

    I hope Petie is ok! Is it wrong that I got all teary reading this? Don’t answer that.

  4. Aw, I’m sorry. Lots of love is my advice! Love cures all, right?

  5. Amber

    Oh no! I’m no stranger to pet problems. Keep us posted. I sure hope Petie is okay. And that it doesn’t cost you an arm and a leg to find out.

  6. Aww man – I hope he is ok!

  7. Oh poor Petie! I know how you are feeling…. Momo has a heart murmur and coughs too. :(

    Mo takes blood pressure meds every day to help her heart not work so hard. She will eventually go into congestive heart failure, although that is also treatable…until it’s not anymore. I know the trachea thing can also happen, or sometimes the coughing comes from fluid in the lungs (part of congestive heart failure that can be treated.) Hopefully they will do like they did with Molly and the blood pressure meds will perk him right up! I am hoping for you. xoxo

  8. Aw, poor puppy! I hope he’s okay.

    Also, I’m curious, do you guys rub Annmarie down with peanut butter or is Petie planning to eat her?

Leave a Reply

