The LBD Challenge

As I mentioned previously, my good friend CAG is doing a challenge where she is wearing the same little black dress (LBD) for 100 days in a row (but reinvented so differently that you wouldn’t even know it was the same dress!).   Seriously – you have to go check out her page and her portfolio of outfits.  She managed to turn her LBD into a hooded jacket one day.  I still don’t know how.  She’s a fashion magician.

She’s challenged a few of her friends to a duel where she’ll have her readers (go over to her blog and vote!) choose who reinvented their LBD better.  If she wins, she’ll donate $10 to her charity.  If her oppenent wins, she’ll donate $20.  And because I’m not an a-hole, I’ll also donate.  If I win, I’ll donate $10.  If she wins, I’ll donate $20. 

I warned her that I wouldn’t be much of a challenge though.  I have a few things holding me back when it comes to reinventing an outfit.

  1. My boobs must still be easily accessible.  I’m still nursing and I can’t be dealing with a lot of layers or complicated pinning/draping/tying of fabric just to get my boob out.  This is actually one of the reasons I chose my challenge days against CAG to fall on the weekend.  My work attire stays simple these days.
  2. I can’t wear earrings or necklaces.  I’ve got a very grabby baby (just ask friends that have had their earrings pulled out!) and so for my own safety, I have let go of wearing these basic accessories for awhile.
  3. My hair is always pulled back.  I realize hair doesn’t necessarily go into “reinventing” an outfit but I think that it sort of does.  Hair is another accessory in my opinion.  Because my baby is Grabby McGrabberson, my hair is always pulled back these days.  It makes for some very un-exciting looks.

I also needed to be doing something.  I can’t just reinvent a dress only to sit on my tush at home.  I needed a place to go (that doesn’t include Target… despite how much I love that stupid store).  Today’s plan was to go to the pool.  For anyone that lives in the Baltimore area – you know that my plan fell to crap due to the horrible thunderstorms.  Stupid weather!

So here is my dress of choice (I actually own several black dresses but this is my weekend casual black dress):

It is a jersey cotton wrap dress from Old Navy.  I got it several years ago (I think about 4 years ago?).  It is just a comfortable and easy dress to wear.  It also is known as my flasher dress.  I have flashed many strangers in this dress because when the breeze hits me just right – the front of the skirt blows wide open. 

Here’s me when I normally wear the dress:

Let me break down this look for you:

  • Earrings and necklace – none. 
  • Ring – my wedding band.
  • Hair – pulled back by an elastic headband and a hair clip (hence the wear flippy piece hanging out).
  • Dog – Petie.
  • Boobs – courtesy of breastfeeding.  Can I count cleavage as an accessory?  I’ve never had it before.

I decided to use my dress as a bathing suit cover-up for when I had planned to go to the pool today (stupid weather!).  And this is what I got:

I realize this isn’t that different.  I told you I wasn’t very creative.  But here’s the breakdown:

  • Earrings and necklace – none. 
  • Ring – my wedding band.
  • Hair – scarf that I use to protect my scalp from the sun.  I’m a little crazy about skin cancer.  I wear SPFs that are over 30 and they’re usually the “natural” ones that leave a nice white sheen on my skin (from the zinc).  So I’m a little crazy about my scalp.  This is my beach head scarf.  Hot stuff, I know.  I also am wearing my hair braided to the side.  Annmarie grabbing a braid is much less painful than when she grabs the hair underneath a ponytail or bun.
  • Boobs – my bathing suit.  I purposely tied the dress a little looser so you could see my bathing suit for a pop of color.
  • Bag – my beach bag (that I got for $5 in the Outer Banks 2 years ago).
  • Shoes – Tory Burch!  I got these for $25 (they’re normally $200) because one of the grommets was missing.  I took it to a shoe repair shop and for less than $10, I got the shoe fixed.  Voila!  I usually put these one when I want to look snazzy (as opposed to wearing rubber flip flops).
  • Sunglasses – these are a risky accessory around Annmarie but I can’t go outdoors without my shades.  I got these somewhere in Hampden for $10 and they are my FAVORITE sunglasses.  I’ll probably have a memorial service for them if they ever break.
  • Dress “reinvention” – aside from tying it a little looser, I rolled the sleeves up because I didn’t want a sleeve tan.  This was all before I realized the sun would not be coming out to play today.

And just because…

Look at me!  I’m going to the pool!  Or it looks like I’m being held up by gunpoint.  Take your pick.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

4 responses to “The LBD Challenge

  1. I love the idea of the challenge. Seriously, how fun is that? And creative. Makes me want to take a second look at my own closet!

  2. CAG

    KIM I LOVE YOU!!!
    You look so adorable! Sometime simplicity is best! I always feel like a darn dragged queen and that gets so tiresome after a while.
    Meanwhile in CAGland…I tied that dress so tight around my head so tight I think I suffered a minor concussion! Smdh

    But seriously I appreciate you doing this so much (And thanks for not erasing my e-mail…:-) )

  3. Love! Great job. I’m not good at reinventing things either. Today I threw a belt over a dress I don’t normally wear a belt with, and I thought that was pretty impressive.

  4. Pingback: Uninspired Fashion (I Can’t Compete with a Fashionista) | Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

