Mommy Monday

My first installment of mom stuff. If you’re not into mom stuff, I suggest you close the browser now. It won’t hurt my feelings, I promise. But let’s not pretend that 80% of my content isn’t already about my baby. You’ve been duped into reading a mom blog!

Eating

We’re up to feeding Annmarie solids 3 times a day. I don’t understand why pureed food is considered a solid but whatev. We’ve been referencing “Super Baby Food”┬áto determine what foods we can introduce and when. I don’t necessarily recommend this book. There was a lot of reading prior to any sort of food introduction that seemed like scare tactics to me. Anywho…

So if you haven’t figured it out (or if I haven’t mentioned it before), we make our own baby food. It really isn’t that difficult to do (we generally prep the food on Sundays). It is also very economical. But I’d be lying if I said our choice to make our own food wasn’t partly due my need to ensure that I’m giving Annmarie organic whole foods. Did you just roll your eyes? I did as I typed out that sentence.

I’m also still breastfeeding. This means that I’m still pumping. I’ve started to get some “you’re still pumping?” comments lately and it makes me feel a little weird. Yes, I’m still pumping because Annmarie still drinks breastmilk. And? I’ve been slowly stepping down the number of pump sessions in a day. I used to pump 4 times a day during the work week. Now I’m down to 2. And even though I’m down to 2, I’m still pumping out a ton. I truly believe I’ll end up donating my breastmilk to a milk bank because I have so frickin’ much of it at home.

Moving

Annmarie is a champion roller. She’s been rolling around all over the place since mid-July.
Week 32 Outtake
Week 32 Outtake

Lately we’ve seen signs of her potentially getting ready to crawl. The last couple of times I’ve gone into her room in the morning, she’s been on her hands and knees rocking back and forth. Because I wanted to blog about it – I tried to capture her doing that on video this morning. And of course she wanted none of it. When she’s in her crib rocking, she’s happy and squealing. When I pull out my little video recording device, she’s all “f your face, mom!” So watch this without the sound, it is much cuter:

And while she’s whining about being on her hands and knees, I like that she ends the video with an “ooh – the carpet feels neat” gesture.

Mom Life

While I’ve always been a bit of a homebody, lately I’ve been feeling incredibly lame. I imagined myself to be a more social mom but I find myself choosing to stay at home over coordinating plans with others. I’ve passed up on opportunities to meet up with people (happy hour, dinners, etc.) and I’m starting to get bored with myself.

Jeremy’s parents watched Annmarie Saturday night so we could have a “date night”. Actually – they just wanted to spend some quality time with Annmarie but also encouraged us to go out.

And we didn’t know what to do! We ended up doing a movie and dinner. The movie? Drive. There isn’t anything in the theaters that we’re dying to see so we both settled on that movie. And while I love Ryan Gosling, this movie wasn’t good.

Dinner was nice but we spent the majority of time talking about Annmarie! I’m seriously boring myself over here.

So moms – what are you doing to keep some semblance of a personality? I think things are bad when you bore yourself.

3 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

3 responses to “Mommy Monday

  1. CAG

    Aww Kim…Even though I’m not a mom I still enjoy reading your blog and all the updates on Annmarie. I wish I could see you guys more so this is the next best thing!
    I’m loving Mommy Mondays!! Keep up the good work!

  2. Amber

    My best friend has three kids, and so whenever we hang out, it’s usually with at least 1 of the kids. The other day, we went out by ourselves without them and neither of us had anything to say to each other that wasn’t about her kids. I can’t remember what we talked about before she had them!

  3. That video of Annmarie is too fucking cute for words. She looks like at any minute she’s going to suddenly ZOOM away like a cartoon character.

Leave a Reply

