Farewell (to our daycare) Friday

Today is the last day with our daycare provider.  I’m a bit sad about it.  Jeremy is relieved.

I worry that Annmarie’s transition to a new place is going to be tough.  She obviously loves our current lady (we’ll call her Sarah).  She smiles everytime she sees her.  And sarah clearly loves Annmarie.  Apparently she gives off the kidnapper vibe to Jeremy.

We switched providers because Sarah moved.  We commuted back and forth for a bit but it was a NIGHTMARE with traffic.  Then, in a strange turn of events, Sarah left her husband and moved out of the house.  She dropped the other family she was providing daycare for and offered to come to our home for the remainder of the month (partly out of obligation and partly because she loves Annmarie).

She’s been operating as a nanny of sorts and it has been great.  I feel a little bad because she’s only charging us her daycare rates (and nannies make MUCH MUCH more).  She was supposed to pick up a new family in mid-October and was going to offer them the same temporary nanny deal.  Then the family pitched doing a nanny share (but they weren’t willing to pay typical nanny rates).  She had asked if we’d consider hiring her but we cannot afford what she should be paid.  But oy – do I feel bad.

Because her personal life is sort of falling apart, Jeremy really just wants to switch to a more “stable” daycare. 

I worry for Sarah because she is now unemployed, going through a divorce and essentially homeless (she’s temporarily staying with her grandmother).  Most people think it strange that I’m so concerned for her – but I think it has to do with the fact that she’s asian.

Is this crazy?  I talked this over with one of my half-asian friends and she agreed that she tends to favor/sympathize with asians more so than with any other race. 

UGH – I think when she leaves the house today, there will be tears.  And I will feel terrible (like I’ve somehow abandoned one of my people). 

But on a happier note, check out Annmarie.  She’s a frickin’ genius!  Only (nearly) 8 months old and can already use an iPad…
image

Okay not really.  We downloaded some kiddie fish app that has fish floating around on the screen and if you touch them, it tells you what color the fish is then switches to a new fish.  Annmarie just likes trying to “grab” the fish.  So maybe she’s not a genius since she doesn’t realize she can’t physically grab the fish?  Or perhaps that makes her a mega-genius?

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

2 responses to “Farewell (to our daycare) Friday

  1. I think it’s totally normal to be concerned for her. I don’t know if I’m more sympathetic to Asians, per se, but I always feel some sort of kinship to Em’s caregivers. I wouldn’t have chosen them if I didn’t, ya know?

    Good luck with your transition, although I’m sure Annmarie will do just fine. :)

  2. I wouldn’t worry about the little peanut. If she’s 1/10th as strong as her mama, she’ll be just fine.

    But I understand the concern for your provider. I mean, this woman has helped to raise your child, if only for a few months. In some small way, she’s become a part of your family. It’s understandable that you worry about her. Maybe a nice pot of soup or some brownies would help to both ease her through this time and show your appreciation!

Leave a Reply

