Frugal Friday

Over the last few months, Jeremy and I have really been looking at our finances and trying to figure out ways to cut unnecessary expenses.  Or maybe Jeremy has always done this but I lacked any sort of fiscal responsibility until we had a baby and then I was presented with all sorts of, “holy crap – that costs WHAT?!

Some things I’ve started to do include…

      • Use coupons!  I’m nowhere near the “Extreme Couponing” madness but the fact that I’m even using coupons is a big deal. 

We do the majority of our grocery shopping at Whole Foods and they do a great job with being able to print coupons from their site.  I don’t really go above and beyond to track down additional coupons though.  Baby steps, people.

  • Not buy so much random shit for myself.  Jeremy would probably disagree but my mindless shopping (whether it be online or just a random trip to the mall) has pretty much ceased.  I still occasionally buy stuff for myself but it is nowhere near what I used to do… but I think I’ve replaced that with wanting stuff for Annmarie.  So maybe I’m not actually saving anything.

So that’s just 2 things and I realize that is nothing impressive.

Some other areas of improvement in our financial lives include:

  • Cable – do we really need it?  Jeremy is toying with the idea of dropping cable and buying a digital antennae, paying for Netflix streaming and Hulu Plus.  I’ve already mentioned the need to break up with some TV shows so I feel like this should cover us.  Has anyone done this?  Any regrets? 
  • Phone – Jeremy tried to see if we could cut our cell phone bill down but it seems we’re already doing the cheapest plan available!  It is kind of crazy what we pay for our service.  And after analyzing usage, I’ll be sending more text messages (to at least make some of my plan worthwhile).  Brace yourself, friends.
  • Dining Out- Surprisingly, we really haven’t been going out to eat much.  I don’t know if this was intentional (on Jeremy’s part) but I’ve noticed we’ve been eating at home more a lot lately.  However, this means that I’m eating more cereal for dinner.  I’m okay with that thought because I love cereal for dinner. 

    My current favorite cereal. I love you, Kashi.

  • Sewing – I’m making Annmarie’s clothes!  Okay – I totally made this last one up but I am going to start sewing things.  I MEAN IT!

How do you save money?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles, Charm City Kim Shops

7 responses to “Frugal Friday

  1. We do this occasionally – try to figure out what we can cute. But it always ends up being little things that don’t add up to much. We can’t not pay rent or utilities or student loan and car payments. But we’ve considered your solution for cable and just haven’t taken the plunge yet.

    We’ll see…

  2. We’ve also threatened to cut our cable, but we just can’t do it. Netflix and Hulu just don’t have enough content for us to ditch our cable yet. Our biggest waste of money right now is expensive morning coffee and late night fast food. Especially when work is insane like it is now, our consumption of both goes through the roof!

  3. TreeTownHugh

    A couple years ago I dropped cable for Netflix and Hulu (not plus). I live too far in the country for over-the-air digital TV. Only regret was missing some NFL, but I just moved into a house with basic cable still attached. I dropped cable because I couldn’t stand the ads at the bottom of the screen during a show.

  4. We cut our cable down to the bare bones, so we basically just get better reception, but no fun channels anymore :( . We catch some cable shows on On Demand. We have Netflix and just cut the DVD part of the service, so we just have streaming. We have a timer on our thermostat to control the heat at night/when we’re away. I shop with coupons when i can, but I refuse to buy a bunch of processed shit just to save 20 cents, so some weeks I save like $25 and some weeks I save like $5. I try to always buy clothes on sale. We only eat out like once a week for dinner (usually Friday nights) but sometimes that creeps up on us, too. We shop a lot of thrift/consignment/vintage Amazing what you can get when you shop often enough. we have saved TONS on outfitting our house, and haven’t had to sacrifice style or cleanliness or anything. :)

  5. Be careful with printing coupons – unless you’re doing it at work. Is it worth $35 per month for unicorn blood, I mean printer ink, to save a few cents on Spagettios?

  6. Hey Kim – it’s Annie, Katie’s friend. We cut cable and did exactly what you mentioned – NetFlix and Hulu only. We also got some antenna thing so all of the basic channels come in HD. Honestly, I thought I was going to die when my husband mentioned the idea getting rid of cable, but we are saving over $100 a month, and it really adds up. You can get so many shows via Hulu, the only downside is that you can’t get them when the show is airing – but how many of us actually watch the shows when they’re airing anyways? I’m a big supporter of no cable – they are out to get everyone, anyways!

  7. I went without any sort of tv service for two years and I so wish I could go back to those days (the bf is totally addicted to tv – and he pays for it – but I could so do without). I watched the occasional movie (and re-watched some) and bought a few series, but that was about it. It gave me a ton of time to do other things.

    I HATE cell phone bills. They get you coming and going. I tried to cut mine down, but it’s impossible. I use hardly any of my shared 700 minutes (I share with my mom and she hardly uses any) because we have a circle of 10 people each that we can call without using our minutes, but without having the 700 minutes, you don’t get the 10 circle people. UGH! WTH! It’s a crock.

Leave a Reply

