Not Quite Domesticated

I’ve still been sewing like crazy (and I still have not reached out to my aunt about obtaining my Grandma’s serger) but all of the pics I’ve taken of my projects were on my old phone.  And I haven’t gotten around to uploading them to my computer.

But I swear I’ve made things like…

- New kitchen curtains
- Onesies with ties sewn on them for Annmarie’s future husband, Reid

I bought a Groupon (technically my friend bought a Groupon that was good for 2 people and I’m her other person) for a sewing class.  While I feel more and more confident when I sew something – I know I’m not doing anything properly.  I worry that a lot of my stuff will fall apart in the wash.  And I’m sure there are better ways of doing things than I am currently doing because sometimes it takes me for f’n ever to do simple things like hem something.

Anyways.

My father-in-law accused me of becoming domesticated.  I don’t know if I’d go that far.  I like to think I’m becoming more creative?  Crafty?  Awesome?  I still don’t cook a lot and I’ve pretty much given up on baking anything because the process is too damn frustrating.  And I blame that all on blogs.  Bloggers post fabulous pictures of their baked creations.  My stuff looks like someone pooped out a cookie.

This week my office did a dessert exchange.  I thought this was a great opportunity to bake something fun and festive.  And I wanted some sugar cookies after seeing this.  I have this jar of cookie cutters that I’ve never used (but of course I had to have it and really thought that I’d be baking up a bunch of cookies shaped like cutesy things).  I should have taken a picture of the amount of dust that had collected on this jar (since it sat on top of our kitchen cabinets).  I had to wipe it off with a damp cloth.  Gross.

So anyways – I wanted to make Christmas sugar cookies (with colored icing and all).

I regretted that decision the night I started rolling the dough out because holy hell… what a pain in the ass.  And for such little output.  That recipe yielded 19 full cut out cookies (with dough leftover to make a plain round cookie and 3 letter cookies:

And not to mention that they appeared to be decorated by a child.  But they tasted pretty f’n good, thankyouverymuch.

My nice co-workers thought they were “charming” and said they appreciated that they were home-made.  Riiiiiight.

Also?  Pinterest will be the death of me.  I’ve already pinned a shitload of DIY Christmas decorations as thought I have time, patience and SPACE for any of it.

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Creates, Charm City Kim Eats

5 responses to “Not Quite Domesticated

  1. You are Miss Creative lately. I’m so impressed. I’ve got my little embroidery hobby and that’s about it.

  2. I hate things that are a lot of work with little output – cooking, baking, cleaning, etc. My lack of domestication was a recent topic at a “Festivus” party with a group of co-worker friends. They laughed at my expense and I’m ok with that. =)

  3. So, I’m finally up to date, I feel so accomplished, my husband didn’t understand. (Haha, no surprise there, he thinks I’m weird anyways). I started a few days ago when I searched the “prep for labor massage in hopes of no tears.” My due date is one week from today, well yesterday if you get technical. But I was hooked because you spoke your mind and I can relate to so many things you write/type about.

    It took me a while to get my sewing machine out of it’s box, but now I use it almost daily! I have an online store that I try to sell from because I make way too much to keep! But this really got me addicted: http://darlingdiapers.com/SDminimocfinal2.PDF I love making these soft soled shoes–they are adorable! I’ve even added my own flare: http://hyenacart.com/SnugglyBabyStuff/mt/3918/83897/Reindeer-Booties

    I also have made quilts, they can be ridiculously tedious and I’m shying away from them, I have many quilt faces, but don’t have the motivation to add the batting, backing and binding… I like the immediate satisfaction I get from other smaller projects. And I’ve made cloth diapers. I figured since I’m expecting number 2 and number 1 is still in diapers, that it would be very beneficial. I’m currently on the fence. I don’t have enough yet which probably sways me back to disposables…

  4. Um, the last time I sewed anything that wasn’t a button (because if I don’t sew the buttons back on Kyle’s shorts he’ll just belt them closed) was in college. And it was a mini-skirt that I made out of an old t-shirt. That Kyle’s refused to be seen in public with.

    So, yeah, I think you’re pretty badass.

  5. ene IU fan uulzaltiin taaalr delgerengui medee oruulaarai amjilt , asuult: busad adminuud maani yaachwaa huurhii Uka chi gantsaaraa medee hiigeed yadarchinu, saihan medee oruulj bgadchin bayarlaa amjilt

Leave a Reply

