Fashion Friday – Trends I’m Digging

I didn’t take any pictures of what I wore this week. It was pretty lackluster (although I do like the dress I’m wearing today) plus I’ve had a sick baby who was ultra clingy (so trying to snap an outfit photo wasn’t exactly a priority). So here’s a picture of the shoes I’m wearing today:


I bought these at Target because I was really into the whole oxford shoe with cute dresses thing. But I don’t wear these often. I like them a lot but feel like a bit of a turd in them. Like maybe I’m not fashionable enough to pull off that trend.

Anywho. Despite not taking any pics of my outfits this week, I’m not abandoning this whole fashion thing. For this post, I’ll just talk about a couple of purchases, some trends I’m digging, and one of my favorite fashion items.

New Purchases

I received a generous gift card from my in-laws for Christmas to TOMS. I had a couple of shoes on my wish list and I guess they felt it was just easier to give me a gift card so that I could choose the shoes I wanted. I saw some blurb about how they were releasing ballet flats so I waited… and waited.

But then they released the ballet flats and I still waited. The gift card was enough to cover most of the cost of 2 pairs of classic TOMS. The ballet flats were much more. I hesitated. I went back to look at the large variety of shoes. I waited some more. But then I realized that I need to stop being such a turd about this because these were a gift! So I pulled the trigger and ordered these:

Morocco Women’s Vegan Classics

Isabel Burlap Flat

I tried to pick ballet flats that I thought would be more versatile (since they weren’t exactly cheap). And since I already own gray flats (and even gray classic TOMS), I wanted another good neutral shoe.

And I guess since I went so safe with my shoe choice, I was craving something a little more exciting. Actually, I popped into H&M to look for another trend I’m into right now but stumbled across this great dress for only $17.95!

H&M Herringbone Dress

I was really torn between the pink/black and the white/black. While the white/black seemed like a great versatile piece, I wanted something fun. And at $17.95, it didn’t seem like much of a risk! But I’ll be honest… I’m contemplating going back and also getting the white/black version.

Trends I’m Digging

I really am digging colored denim right now. At first I thought it was too loud, but it has been growing on me for quite some time. However, I refuse to spend a lot of money on this as I really think it is a fleeting trend.

While I’ve seen myriad colors, I really want either red jeans or cobalt blue jeans:

Target’s Mossimo Supply Co. Juniors Skinny Denim

Forever 21’s Low-Rise Colored Skinny Jeans

I tried to run over to F21 today at lunch but they were sold out. I went over to H&M but they didn’t have my size in their red jeans (and holy hell… talk about feeling like a fatty boombalatty. I tried putting on the smaller size of the sizes I tend to teeter between and I couldn’t get it past my calves!).

I’m not sure if I’m too old for these (and the fact that the Target jeans are branded as “juniors” doesn’t help to alleviate this concern) but at less than $25, I figured it was too big of a loss. It is worth a try, right? I’m going to try them this weekend (if I can find my size).

Favorite Fashion Item

So one of my favorite fashion items is a scarf. Actually, 2 scarves but I find myself wearing this one around the office a lot more than the other (and it is because the other one is pink with white skulls on it).
Playing dress up

(okay – and I also just wanted to post a cute picture of my baby although this picture is from 6 months ago.)

I recently saw a pin on Pinterest about a different way to loop the scarf and have been a big fan of this method ever since.

What trends are you into? Am I too old for colored denim?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Shops

7 responses to “Fashion Friday – Trends I’m Digging

  1. LOVE those TOMS! I’m also digging the colored jeans right now (though I don’t own any…) but also think it’s a trend I won’t be ableto pull off (but you? I think totally could) as well as the fat that my calves are HUGE so most trendy-tight pants make me look like a sausage. BOO on sausage legs :(

    And as always – AM is a total cutie! Love her in the scarf!

  2. Ditto – love the TOMS you chose!

    And I hope you’re not old for colored jeans ‘cuz I’m older than you and am considering a pair from Old Navy.

    And Ann Marie — so, so, soooo cute!

  3. Your baby pulls off a scarf better than I do. Goddamnit.

    Also, I am obsessed with your burlap flats. They’re so neutral until you look at them close and then BAM texture. Super cute.

    Also also, you’re not too old for colored jeans, because even though you’re older than me you look younger than me. Plus, you’re super trendy. Flaunt it, woman!

  4. I chuckled at the colored denim comment because I thought to myself, “Olivia would love those!”

  5. Good choices on the TOMS! I can’t believe how expensive their flats are and will probably never buy them. But I am eager to see what spring wedges they come out with. I love my coral wedges and want something else fun!

    Also, I’m coming over and stealing that scarf off your baby right now. I want it!

  6. I’ve never tried Toms, but I really like those patterned ones!!

    Yes to colored denim. If you pair it with simple, classic pieces it helps make it feel less ‘juniors’ and more modern. I have a pair of cobalt jeans and pink jeans. While I wouldn’t exactly wear them to the office, I wear them all the time on the weekends! Work it, girl!

    Also, that AM picture – there you go again making me want babies :)

  7. Pingback: Fashion Friday – Spring Cleaning and Still Searching | Charm City Kim

Leave a Reply

