Pinteractive: Baked Avocado Fries

I was eager to try this recipe when I saw it on Pinterest the other week.

I love avocados.  I love fries.  This seemed like a great idea!

This didn’t call for a ton of ingredients (another selling point for this recipe):

food 003

And now here is where things went downhill.  I guess I didn’t compute that I’d be breading slices of avocado (something that isn’t very solid).

My very messy station:
food 008

Can you see the buildup on my fingertips?  Panko flakes really stick to egg.
food 006

The recipe directed you to place the slices on a cooling rack that had been sprayed with cooking spray.  I skipped this step because this was already way messier than I anticipated and I didn’t want to dirty up more space.  These went straight onto the pan.
food 012

And here they are fresh out of the oven (I didn’t bother to style the fries so that they looked amazingly delicious):
food 013

The verdict?  Meh.  I really liked the crunchy texture but wasn’t blown away by the taste.  Jeremy didn’t like it at all.  He said he didn’t like the combination of egg with avocado.

I have 3 more avocados right now (I’m glad I didn’t make fries out of all of the avocados!) so I’m trying to think up what I could do with them.

Nannersp
6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

6 responses to “Pinteractive: Baked Avocado Fries

  1. That sounds like a weird combo to me. I would’ve guessed that the avocado would be way too mushy. Sorry it didn’t work out for you!

  2. Shoot! Seems like a good idea! I tried a flax-meal pizza crust I’d pinned this weekend and had similar results. Worked OK in theory, but had a weird aftertaste. :/ Have you had butternut squash “fries”? They’re awesome.

  3. amber

    Make some guacamole!

  4. I like the concept because yum, avocado, fries… duh. But I can see how maybe it’s not so good in practice. Make yourself some BLATs (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato) with the rest of your avocados!

  5. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some avocado, but I’m so over this “if you drench it in Pam and put it in the oven it’ll be EXACTLY like french fries” fad. They’re not exactly like french fries, they are a weak substitution for people who are trying to pretend that their life can still be complete without fried foods. Lies.

  6. (Catching up on my commenting for Pinteractive.)

    I tried avocado fries once at a restaurant, and they were just…bland. I love avocados on their own, but for some reason they just don’t work as fries.

Leave a Reply

