Fashion Friday – Spring Cleaning and Still Searching

My quest for colored denim continues.  I went by Target this past weekend to try on the Mossimo Junior’s colored jeans that I linked last week.  ANDOHMYGOD – they were awful.  Beyond awful.  I could tell that they were quite skinny and bordering jeggings territory but I wasn’t prepared for how ridiculous I’d look in them.

I went with a friend of mine and her reaction was, “um… you look skinny.”  Normally that is a selling point for me but I could tell that she didn’t think highly of the pants.  They looked like leggings and that wasn’t exactly what I wanted.

On Monday, I hit up Kohl’s to check out their selection.  I found a decent pair (although they seemed a little more cropped than I liked) but I couldn’t justify the cost (even though they were on sale for $55 – that was still more than I wanted to pay for this trend):

I think I’m going to have to suck it up and pay a little more if I want non-jegging style versions of this damn trend.

I also went through my closet for an early spring cleaning.  I went through this exercise before I was pregnant and ended up removing 10 large shopping bags of clothes.  My closet was still pretty packed and I had recently reached that point where I found getting stuff out of my closet to be stressful.  I realized I wasn’t wearing a large portion of my clothing anymore because my sense of style has changed a bit or I *gasp* could not longer fit into them.

As I pulled out a bunch of stuff, my friend noted that I had the closet of a Target or [insert large chain store name here].  I had so many khaki pants!  But not even cute khaki.  I had mom khaki.  I had Target employee khaki.  And lots of it.  I stopped wearing a lot of it years ago (and in fact and am almost embarrassed that I wore any of it).

And as my friend pointed out, since I can see how much stuff I’m removing – it is difficult to restrain myself from getting more stuff!  I’m hoping that I can consign a large portion of these items considering I found some high-ish end jeans that still had the price tag attached as well as some other decent items.

I also failed to snap any photos of myself again this week.  Again, I need my photographer (who has been busy studying).

Oh and I also ended up exchanging that H&M herringbone dress (I shared the link last week).  I felt sassy and bought the pink.  Then I sat on it for a few days and realized that I’m not that sassy and that I’d get more wear out of the black & white version.  I wore the dress on Tuesday and it got TONS of compliments.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Shops

4 responses to “Fashion Friday – Spring Cleaning and Still Searching

  1. I would love to be able to throw away bags and bags of clothes like you, but that would require me to have bags and bags of clothes to throw away. But since nudity is still illegal…

    Also, I can’t wait to see you rock those colored jeans!

  2. Do you have a Rue21 near you? They might have some colored skinnys for a decent price (last I knew, their highest priced items were $39)

  3. Also check out Uptown Cheapskate in Timonium for any items that don’t get consigned. You can sell your items for cash or for store credit (25% more). Lots of good stuff there.

  4. Ah, the closet purge. I did that last spring when I was in nesting mode, and it felt so good… Can’t wait to see what colored jeans you do end up with!

Leave a Reply

