Pinteractive: Shirred Summer Dress

I sewed my first article of clothing!

Inspired by this pin (25 tutorials for baby summer dresses), I decided to try my hand at the Sweet Shirred Summer Dress (featured on Prudent Baby… I love that site!).

I didn’t take any photos of the process.  Sorry about that.  But if you click the tutorial that I linked above, they did a really good job of outlining the steps (and including photos!).

I was actually setting out to make a maxi skirt for myself when I decided to tackle a sewing project.  The maxi skirt tutorial called for elastic thread.  I was a little nervous about using elastic thread but Prudent Baby made a great suggestion.  So in case you’re curious, because I have a sewing machine with a “drop-in bobbin” (and I have no idea what that really means… I looked up the specs on my sewing machine to confirm that it was a “drop-in”) – I couldn’t hand wind the bobbin like most of the tutorials suggested.  Prudent Baby said to machine wind the bobbin but set the stitch length to 3.5.  That was PERFECT.

Anyways.

I made a little skirt for AM with some jersey knit fabric that I had intended for me (but I didn’t buy enough).  But I totally f’ed up the skirt.  However, it gave me confidence to work with elastic thread.  But I still didn’t want to tackle my maxi skirt.  I bought new fabric for the maxi skirt but let me tell you… jersey fabric is not easy to sew.
Shirred Toddler Dress

The fabric I used was an old crib sheet.  We were gifted this crib sheet and I accidently ripped it trying to put it on the mattress.  But in my crazy “I hate waste” mind, I couldn’t bring myself to throw away the sheet.  I knew I’d find a way to repurpose it and I’m so happy that I did.

Shirred Toddler Dress

I ran into some difficulty sizing this dress.  Shirring fabric entails bunching fabric together.  The pattern recommended cutting the fabric to be 1.5 to 2 times the width of the actual size we wanted the dress.  And I did that.  But it was huge.  I had to cut this dress down twice and even so, I feel that the top is a little too wide.

Inside of elastic thread
This is what the inside of the fabric looked like with the elastic thread.

Oh – and this was the first time I tried to sew with bias tape (double fold).  I definitely winged it and while one side looks pretty good, the other side is pretty bad.  I read some tutorials on sewing on bias tape (after I had completed this dress) and realized I did it all wrong.  Oh well!

And here’s the lovely model…
Modeling new dress

She loves playing with the remote controls.

Model pose

A little over the shoulder glance?  She’s a natural model!

Modeling new dress

I realize it is probably weird that I’m snapping photos of her in the bathroom.  I probably should’ve chosen a more appropriate location.

Hiding

Playing peekaboo.  Hiding…
Boo!

Boo!

I’m probably going to make another one of these dresses in different fabric and I’m hoping that it won’t take me several hours/days to complete.

Nannersp
6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Creates

6 responses to “Pinteractive: Shirred Summer Dress

  1. that is really cute! I love that you used a crib sheet for this dress. I’m attempting my first shirred dress, and I’m worried about how to know how much fabric to use on the top, as well. I hope that mine works out ok!

  2. monsterawr

    I have no idea what you’re talking about with the scrunching and the bias tape and shit. However, the finished product looks ADORABLE on the little AM monkey. And I love the idea of using an old ripped sheet. Look at you being all crafty!

  3. Amber

    I love the dress! She looks so cute in it.

  4. I love the dress – so cute!

    And what is it with babies who love to play in the bathroom? Meeka does this too – she absolutely loves to be in there, slapping the toilet (I guess it makes a fun sound?) and unrolling the toilet paper, etc etc…

  5. You’re amazing, that is so cute!

  6. Elisabeth

    Hi, I randomly stumbled across your blog while trying to find a tutorial for a shirred sundress. I live in Canton on the eastern side of Patt Park and have a 3 year old daughter. Always love to learn of other crafty people in the neighborhood!

Leave a Reply

