Daily Archives: April 27, 2012

Hi and Bye: AM’s current vocabulary

Tomorrow is my 5 year wedding anniversary. I feel like I should have this great post written about how wonderful these 5 years have been, how Jeremy is my best friend, how I didn’t think it was possible to love someone MORE but seeing him become a father was amazing… blah blah blah. But I’m just not that type of writer. Obviously I feel those things and I’ll usually express that I feel that way by farting on him and giggling like a 10 year old. So.

We don’t have any grand plans tomorrow. We’re running a 6k, as a family, on Sunday morning so that didn’t really leave much in terms of staying out late. Jeremy’s parents will be watching Annmarie during the day because we’ve learned that if we don’t put her to bed, she usually wakes up in the middle of the night (I suspect because she wants to make sure we’re there). We didn’t want to deal with a sleepless night so we have a lunch and movie date planned. Hunger Games, whoo hoo!

We are also not even exchanging gifts! We have a big trip planned next month so we’ve decided that the trip will represent our true celebration of our anniversary (and Jeremy’s completion of law school). I’m excited for the trip but also a little sick about it. I’ve never spent a night away from Annmarie. For this trip, I’ll be spending 5 nights away from her. I get a little weepy when I think about it.

Annmarie has started saying a word here or there and it seems that she understands the word. She still babbles a ton and refers to me, Jeremy and many others as “dada” or even “yaya“. She doesn’t say “ball” or “dog” or whatever else people seem to be telling me their tots say at this age.

The words she is consistently using are:

  • Yeah?” – she says this while pointing or motioning to something she wants
  • No” – She says this when you try to hand her something she doesn’t want or to the dogs when she wants them to get away from her.
  • Hi!” – she says this to people when they walk by. I can’t get her to say this on cue but she’ll usually say it to people that walk by our front door, in the grocery store to strangers or wherever else I’m not trying to coax her into saying it. I think by not saying it when I ask, she’s telling me that she’s not my performance monkey.
  • Bye!” – she is starting to get consistent with saying bye to people although it usually sounds more like “die!”.

I managed to capture her saying “Bye” to me this morning:

I think the “hi” and “bye” are complete influences from daycare. There is a little boy that is older than AM who always enthusiastically yells “Hi” and “bye” to me when I pick AM up in the evening.

And lastly – here are just some recent cute pics:

Fun at a birthday party
This was taken at my friend’s son’s first birthday party. I was worried AM was going to terrorize the other children but she was actually quite good. And she was having the time of her life. I am obsessed with this photo (taken by my friend, Geoff).

IMG_20120422_124953.jpg
We went to the mall on Sunday to purchase AM a pair of TOMS. This was probably one of the biggest clothing splurges I’ve made for AM because I am incredibly cheap about baby/toddler clothes. I want her to always look cute but I have a hard time spending lots of money on clothing when she will outgrow them somewhat quickly AND she stains the crap out of them. But I really couldn’t resist these shoes.

I keep trying to get a good picture of the shoes on her feet but it is incredibly difficult to get her to sit still. Just know that these shoes were worth every penny (they were only $30).

Any great plans for the weekend?

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds