Fitness & Fashion Friday

I recently went on a colored denim bender. I had heard that The Loft was having a sale (40% off of EVERYTHING in the store) so I went to check it out. I work within walking distance of a mall. This is something that is both good and bad. It is usually bad.

I struck gold at this store with colored denim. Granted, I originally want full length colored denim pants but couldn’t pass up the great deal on these cropped pants.

A photo of my green cropped jeans from The Loft

I bought them in green, “caribbean” blue and pink. And now I want to go out and buy lavender jeans. I’m going to get the whole rainbow, I tell ya.

I’m currently in fashion identity limbo. I go back and forth between loving trends but then preferring basics and comfort above all else. Part of my problem is that my body has changed. Apparently having a baby does that to you. Who would’ve thought?

While I dropped the pregnancy weight and then some really quickly, since I’m not really breastfeeding anymore (thereby reaping the benefits of the calorie burn) – weight has been creeping back on. It isn’t anything extreme but let’s just say I’m not the skinny minny that I was 3 months post partum. And now weight seems to be settling in my midsection. I’ve got the mom pouch.

Even worse? A year of breastfeeding has left my already small boobs as even tinier sad things. If you’re following that means smaller boobs and a bigger waistline. Awesome.

So that brings me to fitness

I still run 3 times a week. I have spent the last few months working my way up to run longer distances. 2 weeks ago I completed my first 10k post-baby. I wasn’t pleased with my finish time (I averaged a 10:16 min/mile) but was glad that I was able to run the entire course without stopping (except for water).

I completed a 6k last week and was much happier with my time (9:30 min/mile).

So while I’ve conquered some distances (I’m happy just running 6 at the moment), I really need to work on getting faster again. I don’t think that having a baby messed up my pace though. I think training for that marathon 2 1/2 years ago messed up my pace. I’m so used to just starting off slow to “save energy” for the distance that I’m not accustomed to pushing myself. I do this on the treadmill too.

I’m also currently dealing with some killer shin splints.

Jeremy and I were doing well with p90x but can only really do it when Annmarie is asleep. So it is hit or miss when we complete it. If she wakes up early (thereby eliminating the possibility of us working out in the morning), we try to workout in the evening.

But I’m still only doing cardio 3 times a week. I feel like I need to increase my cardio but I don’t know when I’ll have the time! Granted, my clothes are still fitting but I feel like I’m seeing some muffin top that I’m not happy with.

So – are you a parent? How do you squeeze in meaningful workouts?

Btw – I recognize that I could change my diet a bit, and I have started to cut down on the amount of snacking I do throughout the day. I got very used to my nonstop eating during my breastfeeding months and since I am no longer reaping the breastfeeding benefits… I need to stop the nonstop snacking.

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs, Charm City Kim Shops

2 responses to “Fitness & Fashion Friday

  1. I’ve been struggling to fit in work-outs, but just hit on what works for me (for now) – I walk to work every day (it’s 2.5 miles-ish), and try to run home a few days a week… Trying to do it at night after Meeka is asleep never worked because I’m nearly asleep myself at that point, and in the morning she seems to have a sixth-sense about waking up early whenever I want/need to do something! So that, plus the daily dog walks, means that most of my work-outs these days are walking intensive (I’d love to find time to tone or strengthen, but one thing at a time…) – but at least they are happening!

    I know this isn’t a solution for most people, but it might work for some! (It was really an a-ha! moment when I realized that walking to work took about the same amount of time as commuting, since with public transportation I was often waiting for the bus/train/whatever for quite awhile…)

  2. monsterawr

    Shit, I don’t even have the excuse of a kid and I still struggle to get in consistent workouts. The fact that you manage any at all is impressive!

Leave a Reply

