Pregnancy Update (because apparently I’m terrible at updating people)

The other day I posted this picture on Instagram with the following caption:

“AM insists on eating frozen waffles. She takes a bite out of each one then places them on my belly.  My belly has become her food shelf. #pregnant”

I got a few comments asking me about the baby’s sex and that’s when I realized that I really dropped the ball with this news.  I guess in the age of social media and everyone oversharing on Facebook or Twitter, people expect this type of news asap! (me included, btw)  But after my dad died, I got really turned off by the idea of posting these types of things on Facebook.  Don’t get me wrong, I still love reading everybody else’s updates but I really didn’t want to read through comments from old acquaintances that I haven’t spoken to in years (and yet somehow accepted their “friend” request).

Also – I belong to a private group on Facebook with other women that are all roughly due around the same time.  I commiserate and share pregnancy updates with them (so I guess in my head I am already sharing updates through social media).

With all of that said… I’m going to provide some updates.  I remember my blog turning into a pregnancy blog when I was pregnant with Annmarie.  I don’t want to give off the impression that this pregnancy is any less special.  So here we go (feel free to close the browser now!).

Here is what I looked like as of Tuesday, October 9, 2012:

picture of me at 25 weeks pregnant

I am 26 weeks pregnant.  Please ignore how exhausted I look.  So much is happening with getting my mom’s house ready, prepping to move, etc.

I found out the sex of baby #2 in August and am sorry I did such a terrible job spreading this news.  We’re having another girl!  I knew it.  I was so positive we were having another girl that I didn’t even need the sonogram tech to tell me.  I am thrilled.  If you recall, I wasn’t so thrilled with the news that Annmarie was going to be a girl.  But now that I’ve been raising a little girl, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  And as a person that grew up without a sister, I really wanted Annmarie to have a sister (but I would’ve been just as happy with a boy!).

Sadly – we haven’t done much in terms of prepping for this baby.  It is tough when you’re focusing on moving and whatnot.  We haven’t even given much thought to names.  I remember agonizing over this with Annmarie.  I also remember starting her nursery 3 months before she was born!   Things are definitely different when you’re pregnant with your 2nd child.  I’m not as worried about things.  I know everything will work out.  I was even moving some furniture this past weekend!

This pregnancy still feels a bit harder physically than with Annmarie.  I can’t run anymore.  Running leaves me feeling terrible cramps and like everything will fall out of my vagina (sorry for the visual).  So I’m just using other cardio machines (bikes, ellipticals) but can only manage to do so about 3 times a week (vs working out 5-6 days a week with Annmarie).

My heartburn is still a little out of control but I’m better at keeping it at bay.  The secret?  Not gorging myself all in one sitting.  It is all about spacing out meals and eating them in smaller chunks.  I also crave way more sweets this time around.  Milkshakes and ice cream are my number 1 thing right now.

So there you have it.  I’m feeling pretty good.  I’m just tired and stressed but most of that doesn’t have to do with being pregnant.  I worry about what life will be like with 2 children and worry about how Annmarie will handle all of the big life changes that will hit her in such a short amount of time (moving and having a sister).  Annmarie loves babies right now and there are 2 new ones at her daycare.  I’m happy that she’s getting a lot of exposure to babies right now but am not sure how it’ll translate to her own sibling.

So there you have it!  What’s going on with you?

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

7 responses to “Pregnancy Update (because apparently I’m terrible at updating people)

  1. Traci

    You have great style so I’m super curious to know… will you be using the same nursery bedding and decor? Does Annmarie get new digs? I think about this stuff even though baby #2 is waaaay far off for us; if ever… On one hand you have the stuff why not use it? On the other, maybe each girl should have her own identity from the start.

  2. Shannon

    You look so good! I haven’t really seen a picture of you in awhile, but you’re such a cute pregnant lady.

  3. monsterawr

    Yay little girl peanut! Also, pregnant you is freaking adorable.

  4. charmcitykim

    That’s a really good question (and thanks for the compliment). We are not using the same nursery bedding and decor. I didn’t really think about changing AM’s room into a “big girl room” mostly because we’re moving. We want the transition to be as smooth as possible so while I’m not planning an exact replica of her existing room, we want it to be very similar (so it is blue but a more adult blue gray color and we’ll still have birds and owls).

    For new baby, the room is a light gray color and we’re planning on having accents of yellow. Not sure of a theme yet. I saw lots of elephant related things so we might go that route. Who knows!

    We never really had specific bedding for AM. We have 1 set of owl sheets but she’s got so many solid colored sheets that it isn’t an issue to use them interchangeably.

  5. I just visualized an adjustable wrench falling out of your vagina while you were running. Yes, I know that makes no sense. But it made me laugh.

  6. By the way, I think you look great. I haven’t seen you in like a million years.

Leave a Reply

