Daily Archives: November 16, 2012

We’ve Moved Out

We are no longer Baltimore City residents. It pains me to write that. I have lived in Baltimore City for 9 1/2 years. It is weird to be back in the ‘burbs. My commute to work sucks. There are no delightful and different places to eat nearby (most stuff is a massive chain restaurant). I will no longer run alongside the stinky Baltimore harbor.

Okay, my woe is me moment is over.

Moving was a collosal pain in the ass. It took ALL DAY and was $1k over the moving estimate. I feel like we’re living in an episode of Hoarders (although we’ve done a decent job in getting through boxes and setting things up). There are 2 kitchen tables in the kitchen. There are 2 large living room sofas in the living room. There are mattresses in the basement shoved behind a myriad of boxes. There is SHIT EVERYWHERE and it is making me crazy. New baby’s room is currently a holding ground for furniture we had no other place to store it (since the basement is either half water damaged (so we’re not storing anything over there) or packed to the gills with boxes and 26 years of crap my parents held onto.

I’ve been meaning to post updated pictures of the house (new floors, new paint, etc.) but since the house is not set up the way that I want it to be, I don’t want to share it with other people.

But I hate a post without pictures so here are some from the move (and I apologize to people that look at my Instagram or Facebook… these are just repeats. I’m so lazy these days):

As much as I fought against it, we ended up having the movers help pack. Jeremy apparently knows me better than I know myself sometimes. If they hadn’t helped pack (they spent 3 hours packing some stuff), we would probably STILL be packing.

We needed to pack some stuff the morning of and Annmarie just wanted to play in the boxes. Later, this box would hold a ball pump, a snack trap, a sippy cup and a toy. She was a real helper.

I really thought I’d cry seeing my empty house…

I didn’t cry. I got a little teary eyed in AM’s empty room but that was it. I guess I was ready to let go of this house (or perhaps I don’t feel like I’m really letting it go since we’re leaving some furniture behind and are renting to a very good friend of ours who told us he won’t be repainting anything).

Last update – I am 32 weeks pregnant. I had my first bi-weekly check up yesterday and had to schedule my final ultrasound. Holy balls – we’re nearing the end of this pregnancy! I haven’t really wrapped my head around that since I have been fighting off extreme exhaustion and sciatica the best that I can.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized