The 2nd One Always Gets the Shaft

Guys – we are in the homestretch with this pregnancy. I’m technically “full term” right now. My how time flies.

And you know what? We haven’t done ANYTHING to set up for the new baby.

With knowing we’re having another girl and one so close in age to Annmarie, we didn’t feel it necessary to buy a bunch of new things. However, we’re realizing there are some basics we nearly forgot about… like diapers. Whoops.

The new baby’s room is currently filled with leftover furniture for which we had no landing spot yet. We also had to move some furniture in the room to accomodate the Christmas tree. But all of that needs to move!

I need to rewash and reorganize baby clothes!
I need to set up my diaper station (yes, AM is still in diapers but she isn’t exactly soiling diapers every 30 minutes like a newborn).

And now with the explosion of Christmas toys for Annmarie, we really need to reorganize toys (including getting rid of some stuff) to pull out any infant items that we can stash away for the new baby.

Am I panicked? Just a bit.

I’m having a bonus sonogram on Friday because my belly didn’t grow at all between visits. This seemed to concern my OB so she wants to verify that the fluid levels aren’t dropping. Some people think this sonogram will result in being admitted to the hospital. Ack!

We JUST agreed on a name (although I’m sure I’ll still go back and forth on some others).

I just remember being way more prepared when I was pregnant with Annmarie. This baby is really getting shafted here in terms of care and attention so far.

I still view Annmarie as “my baby” so it is still surreal to me that in less than a month, she’ll be considered the “big girl” and I’ll be walking around in zombie mom fashion with a newborn.

We took a bunch of video on Christmas of Annmarie and as I looked through the camera for previous videos, I realized we hadn’t filmed anything since the previous Christmas! It was crazy to see Annmarie as an infant. Because now she’s a Chatty Cathy that looks like this:
Christmas 2012 018

When did this happen?

3 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

3 responses to “The 2nd One Always Gets the Shaft

  1. Time just flies doesn’t it? I’m excited to learn what name you settled on. Good luck getting it all set up – at least you have a lot of stuff left over from AM and you’re not starting totally from scratch.

    Hope the ultrasound goes well with no hospital visits!

  2. Ditto on all the above! There are some new things we’ve been starting to buy (infant car seat, new crib since our other was recalled, new changing pad, bath tub, etc.), but otherwise we’re in the same boat as you. Sending both of us lots of productive vibes, although it’s getting more difficult at this point with my lack of energy.

  3. You think your second one is getting the shaft, imagine that Dugger lady with number 5-23. (Honest to god, I forget what number she’s on.) She probably just chucks the new one in the corner and adds it to the pile.

    Also, to be fair, you’re like, moving and shit. So I can understand if you’re a little preoccupied.

Leave a Reply

