The First Step

Writing a first post in a new blog is a bit overwhelming.  I’ve had this blog template up since October and the pressure of what to write first had completely debilitated me for months.  However, today is different.  Today I feel inspired to start this – to actually write something.  Maybe it’s the new month or maybe it’s my new graduate class that happens to be all about online communities and blogging.  Who knows.

 

For a quick background of who I am and what this blog may or may not be about, check out the “About Me” page.

 

I was trying to think about what I wanted this blog to be about and while I think I’m pretty interesting, I don’t think everyone would necessarily agree.  I think I might just focus on life in Baltimore.  I have a love/hate relationship with this city but I’d say that I’m more in love with it than I am in hate with it.  I think it’s got a lot of interesting things to offer as well as a nice mugging or broken car window if you’re not careful.  It keeps me on my toes.

 

I’m also going to focus on other things I love like eating.  I love to eat.  I love to try new foods and new restaurants but I am a vegetarian.  If I didn’t enjoy eating out so much and if Baltimore had more vegan restaurants, I’d probably go completely vegan.  So while I dine out somewhat frequently, it’s tough for me to find really good vegetarian places that don’t just offer up fried cheese.

 

I also like to cook.  This is a new venture for me considering I didn’t even know how to cut my own meat until after high school.  I picked up cooking about 2 years ago and while I’m still learning a few tricks here and there, I think I consistently get better and better with each dish.  Just about every meal I make now is vegan thanks to my awesome vegan cookbooks.  One day I hope to be able to make stuff without relying so heavily on a recipe.

 

Lastly – I just like to talk about nonsense.  Pop culture, ridiculous office life, anything.  So I’m reserving my last piece of focus on hodge podge.

 

So now that I’ve clearly enticed you to repeatedly come back to this page and check for updates, I promise that I’ll try to keep this somewhat interesting and that I’ll try to post something new at least 3 times a week.  I’ll also try to make the posts somewhat short and with pictures because everyone in the world seems to have a very short attention span (me included).

 

Is there anything that you’d like to see in particular?

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “The First Step

  1. Congrats on getting your new blog started! Looking forward to reading it 🙂

  2. Kt

    Yay!! Oh by the way – I want to know what vegetarian and vegan cookbooks you use. I’ve been really wanting to invest in one of each!

  3. Yay!! Make sure to include photos – you take great ones! Adding you to my Google Reader now..

  4. Megan

    Yay, I would like to note that you started on my b-day 🙂

  5. WordPress – rock on!

  6. crzypunchdrunkmonkey

    Way to go. I, too, enjoy eating immensely. Perhaps we should establish an elitist dining club and sup at member selected locations monthly???

  7. 1. you are awesome.

    2. LOVE your header. it’s so fitting. and the bokeh is beauuutiful 🙂

    3. thank you so much for the shout-out! you are way too nice and i heart you.

Leave a Reply

