One of the Reasons my Husband Irritates Me

Hello blogosphere – I’m back from my delightful vacation in the Outer Banks.  While I felt like I was stranded in the middle of nowhere, it was a much needed vacation from work. But this post isn’t about my vacation.  This post is about one of the reasons Jeremy irritates me.

His physical endurance will always surpass mine no matter what.

Example?  Sunday was a 10k race in Annapolis.  This was a milestone event for me (and a 101 in 1001 list item) because I have NEVER run this distance consecutively before IN MY LIFE.  It fit in pretty nicely with my 10 mile training too.

While on vacation, I didn’t want to slip up and NOT run especially since the back injury caused me to miss a week of my training (yeah yeah… boo frickin’ hoo… I get it).  I was worried that missing a week plus a tender back was going to really screw up my chances of accomplishing something I’ve never done before. 

So I planned on picking up my training as though I hadn’t missed that week.  It called for a 6 mile run on Saturday… the day I was to leave for the beach.  For some reason, I thought I’d be able to get up early in the morning and run 6 miles in Baltimore, shower and eat breakfast all before 8am.  Riiiight.  That didn’t happen. 

We did make it to the Outer Banks in record time and I was feeling antsy from the ride so I convinced Kristin to jog with me when we got there.  For some reason I didn’t expect the ridiculous heat and humidity at 4pm to really affect me. That 6 mile run?  Yeah – it was more like a 2 mile run with a fast paced 1 mile walk. 

I felt guilty.  I managed to convince Kristin to wake up early the next morning and try the run again.  This time I ran 3 miles and walked 1.  I was getting concerned.  My body crapped out after 3 miles.  How the hell was I going to run 6.4 in a week?!

I ran again on Tuesday. 3 miles. Nearly died.

I ran again on Thursday. 2 miles. 1 mile walk. Thought I was going to die.

When I got back home on Saturday, I found out that Jeremy hadn’t run at all AND his ankle was still hurting from a very violent soccer game.  He also ate like crap (much worse than I did on vacation). 

We woke up at the ass crack of dawn on Sunday to make it to Annapolis by 6:15am.  It was raining.  Strangely, I was thankful.  I’ve realized that running in any sort of heat really kills me.

So blah blah blah… how did the race go?

Well I’m proud to report that I ran the entire thing without stopping.  I have officially run the farthest I have ever run (albeit it very very slowly. My avg mile pace was 10:30 min/mile).  This was the hilliest course I have ever run and if it weren’t for the somewhat cool weather caused by the rain… I definitely wouldn’t have made it.  Once I hit 5 miles… every step I took screamed, “This is officially the farthest I’ve ever run” because prior to yesterday, 5 miles was my longest distance to date.

Now onto what irritates me about Jeremy.  I had to work hard to get to this point.  Even so – I ran slow as shit to accomplish my goal.  Jeremy?  HE PLACED IN THE TOP 5 overall. He was the #1 male and the #1 runner in the age group. Yarg! I placed 597 out of 1266 so at least I was in the top HALF.

Why can guys always manage to do this? Run faster and further with little training?

Regardless… I’m feeling a little more hopeful about this 10 miler now (less than 3 weeks away!). I’m also praying for rain that day.

7 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

7 responses to “One of the Reasons my Husband Irritates Me

  1. I got to a point in my training after running five miles just fine where all of a sudden three felt like hell. I don’t understand it.

    And, yeah, my husband’s ability to just run like that kills me!

    I am definitely struggling a bit with this training. I’m trying not to let the bad running days get me down but it’s difficult when I KNOW I can run farther but am dying after 2 miles.

  2. Haha, I have never understood this, either. And it irritates me too.

    But, CONGRATS on running that far! I have never run that far, so WOO! Nice work, lady!

    Thank you!

  3. you both amaze me. congrats for finishing your first 10k! i don’t think i could even WALK that, and you did it with an injured back. go girl! 🙂

    Thank you! I’m still afraid to do anything that requires me to bend over but dammit, I will RUN!

  4. Holy ass crackers, I feel your pain. I would totally have kicked his ass. I mean, assuming that I could stand, because I’ve never ran 6 miles before either. But after I was done throwing up my stomach, I would totally kick his ass.

    Hahaha… the only positive spin I can put on his ability to outrun me is that as a “team”, we’re always in the lead since he can run so fast. 🙂

  5. What a jerk!

    For real though, I’m impressed with what you did. I think you’re pretty effing awesome actually!

    Well thank you! I’m feeling pretty proud of myself. I hope I can keep this up for another 3 weeks!

  6. Meredith

    Damn that husband of yours is irritating. HA!

    Congrats on your fantastic accomplishment!!

    I know! How DARE he be faster than me. 🙂

  7. Congrats…. If it makes you feel better you would out run me from a speed standpoint and a distance standpoint….. just in case you forgot there superwoman.

    Haha – thanks, Ryan!

Leave a Reply

