Super Summer Reader

I love to read.  Currently – I subscribe to 5 magazines (in my defense, 3 were gift subscriptions) and whenever possible, I try to read actual books.  Right now, I’ve got about 6 books queued up (almost all of them are borrowed from a friend and 1 is a library book).

I’m a little picky about what I prefer to read.  I’m not a big fan of fiction although I’ve been revisiting a few “classics” this past year.  Generally – I prefer non-fictions and memoirs… bonus points for being funny or are really f’ed up. 

 I’m still pissed about James Frey’s A Million Little Pieces and the scandal about him embellishing most of it.  I never finished the book.

 Anywho – while on vacation, I became a super summer reader and went through almost 6 books in a week.  To some, this doesn’t seem like a very relaxing vacation but for me?  It was fantastic.  I got to tune the world out while reading and enjoying the breeze from the ocean.  Fabulous.  In case you’re curious – here is what I read and what I thought about each book:

 Night by Elie Wiesel.  This is one of the “classics” I wanted to revisit.  I know I read it in high school but I loathed reading then and didn’t remember anything about this book.  For anyone also revisiting classics – is it just me, or are they ridiculously fast reads?  This book was less than 120 pages.  It took me less than a day to get through it.  Very sad.

Sit, Ubu, Sit: How I went from Brooklyn to Hollywood with the Same Woman, the Same Dog, and a Lot Less Hair by Gary David Goldberg.  A lot of the books I place on my Amazon wish list are things I pick from People magazine.  This one stood out to me because I remember the little, “Sit Ubu Sit” at the end of some TV shows I watched growing up.  This was an easy and light read. 

 Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris.  This was the 2nd book I’ve read by David Sedaris.  I love him.  I want to move to France and be friends with him.

The Year of Living Biblically: One Man’s Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible by A.J. Jacobs.  This was actually a slow read for me.  It was funny and all but being a person that has never read the bible or belonged to a church or had any sort of religious background made it a little tough to follow sometimes.  Regardless – I really liked how the author balanced the absurb with reality (if that even makes sense).  I thought this was going to be a book about blasting the bible but surprisingly it wasn’t.  I kind of found that refreshing only because I thought he was at least going through his journey with an open mind. 

 Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut.  Another classic.  And I didn’t get it.  Still don’t get it.  It was a fast read but I’m still scratching my head on this one.

 Beautiful Boy: A Father’s Journey Through His Son’s Addiction by David Sheff.  I’m almost finished this book (only 20 more pages!).  I will say that this was a slow starter for me and I think it’s because I’m not a parent.  I couldn’t really relate.  But eventually I became really engrossed in this book.  I got really upset everytime his son relapsed as though I was a part of their family.  Interestingly enough – I saw that Oprah had the author on her show to talk about his experience (with his son) and lucky for me, the show is airing this week.  How random.  And don’t judge me for watching Oprah.

 So while I love to read and find it a very relaxing activity… I am now finding myself completely overwhelmed by the stacks of magazines I have to go through and the 6 books I’ve queued up to read.  Oy – how do I manage to turn an enjoyable hobby into something stressful?

And I realize this is probably a super boring post especially if you don’t really read.  So – here’s a joke. 

What do you call a pig that knows karate?

Pork Chop.

You’re welcome.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Plays

6 responses to “Super Summer Reader

  1. Christen

    I’m a book nerd so I love this post.
    Have you read any Jen Lancaster memoirs? She’s amazing and her new book Pretty in Plaid is great.

    I read “Bitter is the New Black” and loved it. Her books definitely fall in line with what I enjoy reading. I gave a friend “Pretty in Plaid” as a gift and am just waiting to borrow it. 🙂

  2. Meredith

    Oprah forgave James Frey…maybe you can too! 😉 My Friend Leonard was a good read and of course A Million Little Pieces.

    I like David Sedaris but I am partial to Augusten Burroughs. I just feel his books move along quicker and I love the dry humor.

    What do you get when you cross a penis and a potato?

    A dictator!

    I read “My Friend Leonard” and it was enjoyable. It was easier for me to read it because I knew BEFOREHAND that it was slightly embellished. I’m just still THAT mad about “A Million Little Pieces”. As for Augusten Burroughs – I love his books as well. I’ve only read “Running with Scissors” and “A Wolf at the Table” but thought they were great. I see a lot of similarities between Augusten and David.

    And THANK YOU for that joke! It made my day (and I’ll be telling it all day). 🙂

  3. Meredith

    I have Such a Pretty Fat and Bright Lights Big Ass by Jen Lancaster and a few Burroughs books…remind me to loan them to you!

    (I can’t take credit for the joke…that one came from my trainer but I thought it was a good one!)

    Meredith – I will definitely hit you up for the books before I go on my next vacation!

  4. Loved Night, Slaughterhouse Five and Me Talk Pretty One Day. Good choices!

    Thanks! I thought so too. 🙂

  5. I’ve read 1 and 3 on your list and enjoyed them equally as much. For some reason I’ve been on a history kick lately and have been devouring books about Henry VIII and his wives (The Bolyen Inheritance and King’s Fool).

    I told a friend that I would read ONE of his history books. It’s in the queue of books to read.

  6. If you want to give Vonnegut another try, give Welcome to the Monkey House (my absolutely positively most favorite of all favorite books,) and Sirens of Titan (also very good) a shot. I adore both.

    I will check them out. I DO want to give Vonnegut another shot since he’s such a famed author.

Leave a Reply

