Am I a Runner?

I’m sure yesterday provided some reader’s with a glimmer of hope that I would finally shut the f up about running.  Sorry – but I may be on the verge of an addiction.

I wasn’t always this way.  In fact – I once faked an asthma attack during lacross try-outs in the 9th grade because they wanted us to run a 2 mile warm-up.  What kind of warm-up was that?!  About ¼ mile into the run, I was pooped.  My side cramped, I couldn’t breathe… so I stopped.  And then proceeded to fake the an asthma attack.

I didn’t attempt to run again until I was in college when I found myself 20 lbs heavier and willing to watch crap on TV because I couldn’t find the remote control to change the channel.  I saw a walking/jogging program in a magazine and thought I give it a shot.  I jogged… slowly… for about 3 minutes before I wanted to die.  Eventually I made my way to jogging 30 minutes without stopping.  While my treadmill pace was slow, I was overcome with a sense of pride. 

After I dropped the pounds, I think a slight addiction to exercising was born.  Still – I wasn’t much of a runner.

One day, I decided that I would run a 5k without stopping.

Almost 4 years ago, I accomplished that goal.  Again – I was overcome with pride.

Since then, I started running more but never considered myself much of a runner.  I’d go through phases of running a race and feeling great or sometimes I’d try to run just 2 miles around the park and want to die.

This past winter, I ran a 5 mile race without wanting to do.  I was overcome with pride.

This year, I decided this was THE year I was going to attempt a 10k.  I felt I had mastered the 5k races, had run a 5 mile race successfully and was in need of a bigger push.  I signed up for a 10k.

Then – for some reason, I thought I’d challenge myself more and sign up for 10 MILE race.

I hit a rough patch midway through my training for the 10-miler but after my great success with the 10k (do I really need to say that finishing that race caused me to be overcome with pride?), I have felt a renewed faith in running.

5 miles last Tuesday.  Not too shabby.

3 miles last Thursday.  Easy.

7 miles last Saturday.  Fan-f’n-tastic.  If I was capable of crying tears of joy, I’m pretty sure I would have.

5 miles yesterday?  Easier than last Tuesday.

3 Miles tomorrow?  Ppffft.  Piece of cake.

8 Miles on Saturday?  I’m looking forward to it.

Have I become… dare I say… a runner?

And lately I’ve become obsessed with running a marathon.  No longer am I just toying with the idea.  I’ve been staring at the novice marathon training guide for the last 2 days.  I’ve had the Baltimore half marathon and Philadelphia full marathon registration pages up on my computer for the last 2 days.  I’ve already determined that if I choose to follow the training guide, I’d need to begin training on July 20th.  2 days before my birthday.

I just need that final push to actually register.

Ian – if you are reading this… REGISTER WITH ME!

P.S.  I will try to find another topics to blog about, I promise.

2 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

2 responses to “Am I a Runner?

  1. I admire you so much for how far you’ve come. And you’re lucky to have found so much joy in it; I ran cross-country for 2 years but I never once found any enjoyment in running.
    Oh, and yes, you are a runner. I would put you in the “hardcore” category.

    Thank you! As lame as this might sound, this comment just made my day.

  2. we have such a similar running story! i finished my first 10k this year, the clyde’s 10k in Columbia and was so excited when i finished that I knew i had to sign up for a half. im so nervuos, but hoping that i can do itttt!

    If I can do it (well… if I can run 10 miles) ANYONE can! Congrats on your 10k!

Leave a Reply

