Vacation and a Paranoid Husband

The title of the post clearly explains my disappearance from the blogosphere.  We went on vacation (Outer Banks… again!) and Jeremy was super paranoid about announcing to strangers that our house would be unoccupied for a week.  His paranoia stemmed from this story.  It is a valid concern because I think with a little digging – it would not be difficult to pinpoint where we live.

So – while I kept up my tweets, I tried to be a bit cryptic with where I was without screaming I AM ON VACATION IN ANOTHER STATE.  I also have to give credit to a friend that was grabbing our mail for us.  She works in “security” so tends to not divulge too much info if it isn’t necessary… like when my neighbors outright ask her if we are out of town (i.e. is their house completely empty?).  She responded with, “they’re around” and walked into our house.

Anywho – we got back yesterday from the Outer Banks (Duck) in North Carolina.  It was a dellightful vacation but holy hell, we went down during the most HUMID week of the year.  Standing outside for 1 minute would result in sweat rolling down my back.  Running in this weather?  I.wanted.to.die.

However, we had a beach house with a pool (!) and that was magical and well worth the money.  Now I bring you some pictures… or what I like to call, “We tried to get the dogs to play in the pool or at least pose nicely for a cute photo but it didn’t work“:

These first few photos were about Petie’s curiosity about the pool.  He would freak out when we were in the water and don’t even get me started if we went under water.  It was pitiful.  But his skittishness about us in the water also seemed to fuel his curiosity of the water…

Petie is sniffing out the water

Petie is sniffing out the water

Petie watching Jeremy longingly from the edge

Petie watching Jeremy longingly from the edge

Trying to coax Petie into the pool

Trying to coax Petie into the pool

Eventually Petie felt brave enough to jump on our floats

Eventually Petie felt brave enough to jump on our floats

We tried a more stable float for Petie.  How frickin cute.

We tried a more stable float for Petie. How frickin' cute.

Okay – wow.  How many pictures can I post of my dogs on vacation?  Plenty.

The realty office we rented our house from has an annual pet contest.  Don’t think we weren’t all about trying to enter our dogs.  Our dogs, however, weren’t really on board.

I tried to get Petie to sit calmly and cutely like Emily

I tried to get Petie to sit calmly and cutely like Emily

Petie wasnt having any of it.

Petie wasn't having any of it.

Petie stormed out of the photo shoot like a diva.

Petie stormed out of the photo shoot like a diva.

This was as close as we could get to a nice portrait

This was as close as we could get to a nice "portrait"

Jeremy just kept snapping photos as Theresa and I tried numerous times to get them to sit still.  Lots of tantrums, storming off the set, and trying to wedge onself in the chair arm hole later… we gave up.  Looking through the photos in quick succession, however, was like looking at a picture flip book.
So wow.  I just posted a shitload of pictures of Jeremy and I acting like complete nerds with our dogs.  And you’ve read this entire post, nerdy dog pictures and all.  I don’t know what is worse.
And seriously – parents with multiple small children… how the f do you get your kids to sit and look at the camera at the same time?!  And yes, I did just compare MY DOGS with YOUR CHILDREN.  And?
8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Travels

8 responses to “Vacation and a Paranoid Husband

  1. At least children don’t poo on the rug or-wait, never mind.
    At least children shut up once in a-okay, scratch that.
    Just stick with the puppies.

    Good point especially since I can just kennel my pups if I need to. I’m pretty sure child welfare would be knocking at my door if I caged my children.

  2. Wow you are such a dork I can hardly believe it. Jealous of your vacation though!

    Haha – thanks! 🙂

  3. Dan

    Our dog (a cockapoo) has the same reaction with the pool. A lot of running along side and barking (especially when we go under). If you splash, she tries to drink it … don’t get it. Anyway, good pictures. Having both kinds and a dog, the kids are much easier to get to pose.

    Duck is a great place. That’s 1/2 of our annual trip to OBX. Sounds like you had a great time.

    — Dan
    Outer Banks Revealed

    Maybe all dogs are crazy about the pool? That makes me feel a little better. I thought something was wrong with my pups!

  4. Kt

    I would just like to point out that you look naked in the picture.

    Ha! Well I could be. We were on vacation, you know.

  5. Molly does the same thing with the pool!!!

    Um, this is probably one of my favorite posts you’ve ever done.

    *dog geek slinking away*

    Yes! Dog geeks unite!

  6. I have a yellow lab who loves swimming in our pool in Southern Shores . My pit bull mixed mutt jumped in once last year and decided never again, she will reach down a get a drink of water butpretty much ignore anything going on in it. She will steal the toys that we’ve been throwing for the lab as soon as they are on dry land.

    I think labs must be water dogs! I saw a ton of them swimming and playing around in the ocean.

  7. How awesome! I want to go to the Outer Banks. I love your puppies, and the amazing color on those chairs!

    Thanks! And yes – those chairs were a crazy blue color. I didn’t touch up any of these photos.

  8. I was going to ask if you were naked in that one photo, but I see that someone already asked the same question. I’ll take that as a yes.

    Why do people think I hang out naked with my dogs?

Leave a Reply

