Daily Archives: August 11, 2009

Dropped the Ball

Holy shit – the Iron Girl triathlon is less than 2 weeks away.  I had totally let this slip off of my radar and slacked on any sort of triathlon training during the summer.  That whole triathlon club thing I was doing at the end of June?  Yeah… totally stopped doing that.

Biking?  Eh, not so much.

I’ve been so engrossed with marathon training that I completely stopped doing anything related to triathlon training (although I guess I could argue that running is sort of training for the triathlon).

I participated in a mini triathlon workout in the beginning of July at Gunpowder State Park and it went terribly.  I panicked about 25 yards into my open water swim because WTF – I couldn’t see a gd thing in the water and I was being molested by sea grass. 

My amazing marathoning/triathloning friend suggested a mini triathlon workout on Sunday with just the two of us (we can make it if we trrrrryyy… don’t pretend that song didn’t just pop into your head).  I was hesitant about how poorly I would do but my friend is a great motivator and she encouraged me when I needed it and stopped when I needed it.  All in all – I swam 1000 yards (Iron Girl is 1100 yards) with small breaks every 100 yards.  I didn’t panic despite being attacked by sea grass again.  Seriously – that sea grass is out of control.  At one point, I had a wig of sea grass on my head.  Insane.

We biked 8.5 miles and I got to use her fancy road bike.  And holy hell – there is quite a difference between her competitive bike and my old lady bike.  I can’t believe I thought I’d be able to race with my cruiser?

And then we ran.  I wasn’t prepared for how jello-like my legs would feel after the bike ride and oy.  I had planned to do an easy 2 miles.  I could only do 1.

My friend suggested a bike/run workout this evening and I truly hope I don’t die.

The rest of the day on Sunday was spent with me complaining about how I couldn’t possibly move and yet was so hungry.  Annoyingly – Jeremy did not interpret that to mean that he should pick up or cook some food for me and feed it to me.  He is so selfish sometimes.  Gah!

But I guess its good that I got this out of the way, right?

I read an interesting article this morning about how dreaming can affect my performance.  So – if I dream that I can do it, I’ll be able to do it.  Is there a way to force this dream into my brain?  I can’t even sleep these days let alone dream.  Come on brain – let’s visualize me being awesome.

Anywho – I realize this is probably a boring post to anyone that doesn’t give a crap about triathlons so let me see if I can chat about something else.

POOP!  It is honestly one of my favorite topics.  I found myself having a hilarious conversation last week in the microwave area of my office building with a manager about how beets can be quite traumatizing after a meal if you don’t know what to expect.  Are you guys catching my drift here?  Beets are a very deep crimson color.  Eating lots of beets can cause interesting results later.  Catching on yet?

Beets turn your poop red.

I was happy that my friend warned me about this before I consumed a beet salad awhile ago because I’m pretty sure I would have called 911 to tell them that I’m shitting blood only to have a bunch of EMTs tell me I’m an idiot when they realize that I’ve eaten a bunch of beets.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs