Dropped the Ball

Holy shit – the Iron Girl triathlon is less than 2 weeks away.  I had totally let this slip off of my radar and slacked on any sort of triathlon training during the summer.  That whole triathlon club thing I was doing at the end of June?  Yeah… totally stopped doing that.

Biking?  Eh, not so much.

I’ve been so engrossed with marathon training that I completely stopped doing anything related to triathlon training (although I guess I could argue that running is sort of training for the triathlon).

I participated in a mini triathlon workout in the beginning of July at Gunpowder State Park and it went terribly.  I panicked about 25 yards into my open water swim because WTF – I couldn’t see a gd thing in the water and I was being molested by sea grass. 

My amazing marathoning/triathloning friend suggested a mini triathlon workout on Sunday with just the two of us (we can make it if we trrrrryyy… don’t pretend that song didn’t just pop into your head).  I was hesitant about how poorly I would do but my friend is a great motivator and she encouraged me when I needed it and stopped when I needed it.  All in all – I swam 1000 yards (Iron Girl is 1100 yards) with small breaks every 100 yards.  I didn’t panic despite being attacked by sea grass again.  Seriously – that sea grass is out of control.  At one point, I had a wig of sea grass on my head.  Insane.

We biked 8.5 miles and I got to use her fancy road bike.  And holy hell – there is quite a difference between her competitive bike and my old lady bike.  I can’t believe I thought I’d be able to race with my cruiser?

And then we ran.  I wasn’t prepared for how jello-like my legs would feel after the bike ride and oy.  I had planned to do an easy 2 miles.  I could only do 1.

My friend suggested a bike/run workout this evening and I truly hope I don’t die.

The rest of the day on Sunday was spent with me complaining about how I couldn’t possibly move and yet was so hungry.  Annoyingly – Jeremy did not interpret that to mean that he should pick up or cook some food for me and feed it to me.  He is so selfish sometimes.  Gah!

But I guess its good that I got this out of the way, right?

I read an interesting article this morning about how dreaming can affect my performance.  So – if I dream that I can do it, I’ll be able to do it.  Is there a way to force this dream into my brain?  I can’t even sleep these days let alone dream.  Come on brain – let’s visualize me being awesome.

Anywho – I realize this is probably a boring post to anyone that doesn’t give a crap about triathlons so let me see if I can chat about something else.

POOP!  It is honestly one of my favorite topics.  I found myself having a hilarious conversation last week in the microwave area of my office building with a manager about how beets can be quite traumatizing after a meal if you don’t know what to expect.  Are you guys catching my drift here?  Beets are a very deep crimson color.  Eating lots of beets can cause interesting results later.  Catching on yet?

Beets turn your poop red.

I was happy that my friend warned me about this before I consumed a beet salad awhile ago because I’m pretty sure I would have called 911 to tell them that I’m shitting blood only to have a bunch of EMTs tell me I’m an idiot when they realize that I’ve eaten a bunch of beets.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

6 responses to “Dropped the Ball

  1. I’m happy to tell you that a large serving of blueberries will do a similar presto change-o for you. Except blue and brown make nothing much besides greenish.

    I’m going to have to try this blueberry experiment!

  2. Your beet story reminded me of the one my mom LOVES to tell about when I was little. I loved beets, and my friend and I sat and ate an entire jar of pickled beets (I was probably only like 2…still in diapers, however old it was). Let’s just say our diapers were not pleasant for the next day or so!

    Ha! I think I’d probably tell that story to everyone too. :-)

  3. I had a pal that DID call the doctor over said beet issue. They said they get it a lot. :)

    Haha! That just made my day… visualizing emergency rooms and doctors fielding questions about beet poop!

  4. Meredith

    Kim you are already awesome – no need to visualize it!

    Aw – thanks, Meredith! If you want to run along side me and tell me I’m awesome, I think that would help. :-)

  5. I think thats the first time I heard the phrase “molested by sea grass”! Thats funny and good luck on the tri girl!

    Thank you!

  6. I was going to be worried for you and your triathlon, but then I remembered that you’re Super Woman, so it’ll totally be cool.
    On another note, I one time had to take medication for a UTI that turned my pee BRIGHT-ass orange. I called my now-husband in to look at it, but he didn’t want to see it.

    I have totally taken that medicine before with the same result. I was at work when it happened and FREAKED OUT. I came back to my desk a hot sweaty mess and then got in touch with my friend who recommended the medicine to make sure I wasn’t dying.

Leave a Reply

