Trying to Listen to My Body

After receiving a comment from Running Shorts about the magic of Active Release Technique, I googled it and found a local licensed practice that was certified in ART.

After taking a week off of marathon training and with the Baltimore 1/2 marathon on Saturday, I was getting desperate.  I poo-pooed going to a physical therapist when I first experienced pain because Jeremy had been going to one in August and he really doesn’t seem in any better shape now than he did when he first started going.

I knew what the problem was with my knee.  I had a classic case of ITBS.   I knew the PT exercises to help loosen/stretch the IT band.  I had been icing it regularly and taking ibuprofen to reduce inflammation.

After dancing the night away at a wedding this past weekend, I experienced NO pain.  I was overjoyed and thought that perhaps I was ready to start running (slowly) again.

I tried to run on the treadmill yesterday.  My body basically told me to go fuck myself and I stopped running after about 10 seconds.  I experienced pain in my knee for the rest of the day.

I finally sucked it up and called the local clinic (that I’m not linking to because I don’t want them to find this blog and think I’m crazy and not want to help me anymore.  But if you live in Baltimore and are interested in checking them out, contact me and I’ll pass along their info).

Today was my first appointment and they were super nice.  After going through an exam of my leg, the doc felt that I showed good signs of not being seriously injured (no tears or other serious problems).  He then used his magic hands to intensely rub my IT band from glute (aka my butt) to my tibia (shin).  It was like a deep tissue massage but with movement.  He was constantly having me move my leg into different positions.

I have to say that I felt like new when it was done.  The doc described what ART really does but I don’t really remember.  It does something like break down the buildup around whatever problem area we’re having.  Or something like that.  I was too busy feeling relieved to pay attention.

I optimistically asked if he thought I’d be ready for my marathon.  He felt confident that I would be ready in time.

I then asked VERY optimistically if he thought I’d be okay to run the Baltimore 1/2 marathon on Saturday.   He did NOT feel that it was a good idea.

So here I am… I’m out $75 (I missed the 1/2 marathon deferrment date), I’m falling into a deeper depression about getting off track with training and everytime I see a runner, I want to cry.

Perhaps thats why I hate that super turd as much as I do (although most of your comments made me feel pretty justified in my anger). 

I’m incredibly stubborn so it is taking EVERYTHING I have to NOT run on Saturday.  I’m dying to run.  The weather is cool, I feel good right now… and I’m tired of NOT running.  But is it really worth injuring myself worse and potentially missing the FULL marathon (my only real goal)?  No.

Yarg!  I’m so frustrated right now.  I’m going to go for regular ART sessions for the next 2 weeks and see where I am at that point.  The doc is great and understands the need to get back into training as quickly as possible. 

So – please entertain me with something.  Help me get my mind off of not running!

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

8 responses to “Trying to Listen to My Body

  1. Kt

    I am sure you are incredibly frustrated. But just think that it’s better to miss this half than the full. You have 1.5 months to go until your big goal. Let your body heal – don’t push it. And just think – your motivation to do well will be even bigger since you’ve had a break!

    I really am trying to view this from that perspective but UGH! I really hope I do amazing at the marathon now. 🙂

  2. Sometimes athletes come back from an injury and do better than before the injury. I hope this is your fate. To do ten times better than you imagined and than you were doing before the injury.

    As a distraction, maybe something from your 101 in 1001 list would keep you occupied. Another goal. Something to work diligently on to take your energy from one thing to another. Yeah, that’s it. 🙂

    I hope that is my fate too!

    And that’s a really good idea. I have totally neglected my list!

  3. I really hope the ART works for you. I don’t remember what ART does either, but I usually black out from the pain. As an aside, can you water run? I did that once during an injury and it was … and interesting way to pass the time. Dog-paddling grey-haired grannies lapped me and sent confused glances my way, but it kept me in running shape.

    I have another session on Friday and I’m going to ask what I can do to keep me in running shape. Right now I’m afraid to bike or anything that requires bending my knee.

    I like the idea of running around a bunch of grannies though!

  4. heal your body and take it easy for sure!! feel better!

    i gave you some blog love here – http://www.andherlittledogtoo.com/2009/10/my-first-blog-award.html

    Aw thank you! That made my day!

  5. angie

    ~*hey kim! if it makes u feel any better…you’re running/triathalon has been amazing and i’m so proud of you girly! but give ur body some rest so rookie runners like me…can catch up and actually do a run together one day! my hip is killing me and i know i ran less than a quarter of what you’ve been doing. ur inspirational girl so keep ur head up!

    You’re too nice! Seriously – you are the one that got me running in the first place (albeit it was a very slow start for me). 🙂

  6. oh man – I am just reading this. SO sorry you have to go through this. Know that you are not losing all the training you have been working to build up. Take the time off and come back stronger than before!!

    oh and what water stop are you working?

    I really hope so! A lot of people have told me that I should be okay and even the therapist said that they are going to try to make sure I don’t lose too much of what I’ve built up. But oy – the frustration!!

    And I’ll be at mile 9!

  7. In hopes of distracting you, here’s my recent waste of time:
    http://www.lamebook.com

    It will both amuse you and make you loose all faith in humanity.

    Holy crap – that website is awesome! Thank you!

  8. Tiffany Griggs

    Hey, I hear you on the ITBS issues. I’ve been out from any serious running for about a year mainly due to the fact that I waited so long to do anything about it & I keep stubbornly trying to run on it anyway =P

    I was just wondering if you’ve had any success when it comes to dealing with yours? I’m from the Baltimore area and looking for a good place to go for either physical therapy or active release therapy. Could you give me the info for the one you went to?

    Thanks & best of luck!
    -Tiffany
    tifg08@gmail.com
    or
    tgriggs6754@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

