Candy Corn

I’m going to try to stop being Debbie Downer.  I don’t like being Debbie Downer.  I think feeling like Debbie Downer will eventually lead to me feeling like Suicidal Suzy and this really needs to stop.  Its just running.  I don’t have any sort of terminal illness. 

With that said… I went swimming last night.  For those of you that know me, I loathe swimming.  I don’t know what it is about putting my head under water whilst physically exerting myself that makes me think I’m drowning.  Regardless, I went with my awesome marathoning friend (who is running in my place tomorrow) and I have to say, I’m glad I did.  I felt like a big mopey turd all day yesterday until I swam.  I swam 500 meters of freestyle and 400 meters of the breaststroke.  Go me.

No my arms and back are killing me but at least it feels like I did something!

I’m trying really hard not to continue my monster bingefest of a diet since I started marathon training.  Running for a few hours will turn you into an eating machine where you would willingly eat strange combinations of whatever is in your pantry because you just can satify your insatiable hunger.

Strangely – I’ve gotten used to eaten whatever the f I want.  And by strangely I mean awesomely wonderful.  However, now that I’m not logging any miles (or any sort of intense cardio) – I should really cut back. 

Before you get all, “you’re not fat!” on me – I’m not saying that.  I’m just saying that eating nonstop crap while not actually working out generally leads to not good stuff that would probably negatively impact my training once I get back on track.  That’s all.

But still.  Its Halloween season and that means CANDY CORN.

I realize that candy corn is disgusting to most people and quite frankly, I don’t enjoy any other time of year.  But in October something happens to my body’s chemistry and candy corn turns into a highly addictive substance that I crave.

When I get my hands on a bag, I just eat it.  Nonstop.  I keep mindlessly eating it even when my stomach hurts and my head is pounding from all the sugar.  I just can’t stop.

I have managed to avoid candy corn so far but yesterday I went to Mia’s house and was horrified/delighted to see a bowl of candy corn.

So I helped myself to a few.

And then a few more.

And then just a couple of more.

I had to run out of the house just to stop myself.

And now I am DYING for some more candy corn.

Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

What’s your favorite candy around this time of year?

10 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats, Charm City Kim Runs

10 responses to “Candy Corn

  1. The muscle above my hip (whatever it is called) is strained and so I don’t think I will be able to run this weekend (at least) so I think I might go swimming tomorrow instead. However, I LOVE LOVE LOVE to swim.

    I wish I shared that love! It just causes so much anxiety… but its such a good workout.

  2. Meredith

    Candy corn = Crack! I can’t get enough of it!!

    It tastes so good when it hits your lips!

  3. Kt

    Candy corn – have to say I don’t love it. I’d eat a couple, but it doesn’t do much for me.

    Glad you went swimming – I’m sure those happy endorphins kicked in a bit (as you were kicking. sorry – lame joke).

    I find that people either love candy corn or hate it.

    And ha! nice joke. 🙂 I was actually at your gym!

  4. I love candy corn. I also love eating candy corn with peanuts at the same time. It’s just like a salted nut roll (the candy bar that hails from good ol’ MN).

    I love all candy pretty much except banana runts and black licorice. My favorites are the Take 5 Bar, Reese’s, Swedish Fish, and Sour Patch Kids.

    Definitely don’t like seeing you with the downers. This too shall pass.

    Swedish Fish and Sour Patch Kids will be the death of me. I LOVE them year round.

    And candy corn and peanuts? Holy crap – I need to try this…

  5. Vonni

    I love candy corn…I’m in same boat as you. It’s crack in a bag. I’m always glad when Halloween is over it goes away for another year.

    Its weird how I love candy corn ONLY in October.

  6. Swedish Fish. Always Swedish Fish. I am no longer allowed to walk down the candy aisle in any grocery store because I cannot do so without buying Swedish Fish.

    Crap – all this talk about candy makes me want it even more. Looks like I’m hitting up the store for Swedish Fish and candy corn!

  7. smack

    this picture gave me such warm flashbacks. It’s so fun and happy and full of little childhood bellyaches. I love it.

    Full of little childhood bellyaches… so true. And so eloquently put!

  8. Definitely HATE candy corn, but pretty much every other candy gets me. I love the little fun size candy bars that come out this time of year. Mini Butterfingers and Crunch bars and Snickers. Yes please!

    Candy is my weakness, so any holiday when it’s so readily available is bad (so very good!) for me.

    oooh, mini candy bars… yum…

  9. I love candy corn too. Especially the white sections. They have a great texture.

    I’ve had a bad cold all week and the doc told me not to exercise. I am feeling awful about it! I hate messing with my routine. I feel like everything is slipping.

    I am crazy about my routine and I’ve been all out of sorts since this injury.

  10. Always loved candy corn no matter what time of the season it is. Also will try the swedish red fish I used to like them and 3 Muskeeters bars.

Leave a Reply

