Thanksgiving Dinner for Two

Thanksgiving was flippin’ awesome. Why? Because it was just me and Jeremy.

I’m not trying to dog on my family here but you know how it is when you host dinner. It is stressful! The cooking, the pretty placement of stuff and the clean up… and then the worrying that everyone enjoys their meal. I hate it.

For the last few years, Jeremy and I have played host to my parents on Thanksgiving. It started the year my dad had heart surgery and then last year we just decided to make it a tradition. We go to my in-laws the following Saturday for a Thanksgiving makeup.

The first year we hosted Thanksgiving, I was a vegetarian and Jeremy was not. I bought a Tofurkey and Jeremy made stuffed turkey breasts. I found out later (the following year) that my parents weren’t crazy about most of the meal. Ouch.

The second year, I was a vegetarian still and Jeremy was not. And because our oven sucks, Jeremy figured that we could purchase most of the items pre-made from Whole Foods. It was worth the money and time. So that’s what we did (especially since my mom requested a “real turkey” that year).

This year, however, both of us are vegetarians. My mom still isn’t happy about MY turn as a vegetarian but was almost angry that I “turned” Jeremy. According to her, we are no longer fun to eat with anymore.

My gramps was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s. He lives out in Utah and my dad talked about going out to see him as he gets moved into a nursing home. That was the story my folks gave me about not coming over for Thanksgiving (and this was all kind of last minute).

Then I found out they weren’t going to Utah. I assumed this meant they were coming over but then my mom said, “no thanks” and made a comment about us being vegetarians. Ouch.

But you know what? It totally worked out. I enjoyed my holiday with just my husband and if I could finagle EVERY major holiday like this, I totally would. Jeremy is a great cook and we share the same affinity for foods and flavors (although he likes things a little spicier than I do).

I bring you our Thanksgiving meal:

I made a Vegan pumpkin pie (the non-tofu kind):

Vegan Pie Crust
The crust was made from scratch!

Vegan Pumpkin Pie

We had a ton of veggies from CSA as well as just stuff we randomly grabbed from the grocery store. We realized we were on the verge of making TOO much food (is there such a thing?) and decided to write down what we’d make that day vs. what we’d save for another night.

Thanksgiving Menu

I finally convinced Jeremy that brussels sprouts are good:
Brussels Sprouts

Jeremy’s “must have” item was Pilsbury rolls from that tube thing. So gross.
Pilsbury Rolls

Sparkling wine – delightful. I am on a champagne/sparkling wine kick lately and I don’t see it going away anytime soon.
Bubbly

Dinner! Roasted acorn squash (with maple syrup), roasted brussels sprouts, mashed sweet and red potatoes (Jeremy doesn’t like sweet potatoes but this combo worked out really nicely) and the bowl contains a vegetarian goulash that Jeremy made up. It contained red potatoes, roasted tomatoes, chickpeas and tofu. So good.

thanksgiving 020

See – being a vegetarian does not mean eating boring and bland food. Although I know a lot of people will argue that brussels sprouts are disgusting.

13 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

13 responses to “Thanksgiving Dinner for Two

  1. your meal looks absolutely amazing πŸ™‚ i’m glad you had a great thanksgiving! what csa do you get your veggies from around here? i’m very interested in it!

    Thanks! For CSA – we use One Straw Farm and pick up at the Harbor East farmer’s market.

  2. Kt

    I actually love all the sides on Thanksgiving – I have very little turkey. It all looks great (except the tofu – I’ve tried and tried, I just don’t like).

    I think tofu is an acquired taste. While I think it picks up the flavors of whatever you cook it with, I know a lot of people hate it.

  3. Meredith

    I LOVE brussel sprouts!

    they are hard not to love. πŸ™‚

  4. I too really tried with the tofu. I even tried what looked to be a delicious tofu Parmesan over pasta. Eh..no. Where’s my meat? LOL! Love brussels sprouts!

    I think I know more people that hate tofu than love it (like me).

  5. Yummers, it all looks good. And can’t blame you for wanting a quiet holiday either.

    Thanks!

  6. I would really like to get away with staying home with my significant other for the holidays and not having to do all the chaotic family stuff. I love my family, but the holiday travel and socializing kill me.

    You’re food looks fabulous!!!!

    I highly encourage this type of holiday celebration! πŸ™‚

    And thank you!

  7. Vonni

    This year I decided not to drive to my family’s place for Thanksgiving. It was THE most relaxed holiday I’ve ever had. Plus the first one I’ve gotten to spend with my SO as he always works the holidays.

    Your food looked great, but the only way I eat brussel sprouts is baked with bacon. Which won’t work for you, but make them taste yummy. πŸ™‚

    See – I think everyone would be happier to spend holidays with just their SO!

    Ha! I think a lot of people feel that bacon makes everything better. πŸ™‚

  8. I’m kind of mad at your mom for you. That okay?

    Have you tried the tofu shirataki noodles? They are pastalike and made out of tofu. I suppose for gluten free people or crazy people that don’t want real pasta. I am a pasta lover and I actually liked them. Now, I would never sub it for pasta but as an at the office alternative, I like it.

    That is quite alright to be mad. It was a shitty thing for her to say!

    I’ve heard of those noodles and have always wanted to try them. I just love pasta so much that I can’t see why I’d substitute it. πŸ™‚

  9. Yum, dude! I eat meat, but I think that meal looks positively delish. Although, Tofurkey? I tried that once. Maybe it was prepared badly, but I wasn’t high on it.

    I would gladly attend a Thanksgiving that looked like yours!

    You were not mistaken on the Tofurkey. Its nasty… and this is coming from a vegetarian that loves tofu.

    But thanks! If you lived near me, I’d totally invite you!

  10. cuteness that it was just the two of you. sucks about the parents but sometimes its better that way!

    Thanks! And this case, it was totally better.

  11. Ann Marie

    This looks so good. I have never beena good cook, but when I became a veghead, I started getting better. My Thanksgiving actually turned out well also. Glad you had a great time.

    I think the same thing happened to me when I became a veg… my cooking improved. By no means do I think I’m great, but believe me – I am miles ahead of where I used to be!

  12. I love Brussels sprouts! The hubs, not so much, but it’s his loss. πŸ™‚

    My favorite holidays are the ones we spend just the two of us. I’m happy spending time with other people when the focus is just about spending time with them – the expectations of holidays kind of overwhelm me.

    Glad to hear you had such a great Thanksgiving!

    Brussels sprouts are something people either love or hate.

  13. Although I’m not a vegetarian, I much prefer non-meat items to meat items so I think your meal looks delicious! It’s almost too pretty to eat.

    Thank you!

Leave a Reply

