The Year of Growing Up

So maybe its the fact that I turn 30 this year or perhaps having baby on the brain…

But I feel like I am surrounded by people turning 30 or pregnant.  What gives?  Do I have a magnet or something?

2 of my closest friends are turning 30 very soon and neither of them seem the least bit concerned about it. 

Me?  OhmygodI’mturning30inafewmonths.  My brain can’t wrap itself around this number because it has always been something associated with adulthood.  And what the fuck?  I still don’t understand the basic fundamentals of a 401k!  Ack!

I’ve also realized that I’ve sort of neglected my 101 in 1001 list and my 1001 days is almost up.  Where does the time go?

So on top of all of this – I feel like everyone is getting pregnant!  While I am very happy for all of my friends, I’m starting to think there was something in the drinking water in Baltimore (that apparently I managed to avoid). 

It all makes sense – I’ve lived through the upswing of a bunch of weddings so naturally a bunch of babies is soon to follow.

So – I’m turning 30.  A bunch of my friends will be parents very soon. 

And somewhere in there I’m growing up.

12 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

12 responses to “The Year of Growing Up

  1. Be proud of who you are at 30, Superwoman! I can only hope to be half as kick-ass someday.
    (And maybe you might want to switch to bottled water for a while. I mean, unless you want a baby. In which case, I suggest you get offline and switch to the appropriate activity.)
    (On second thought, you should probably go do that anyway. You know, keep in practice.)

    Well thank you. 🙂 I guess it just feels weird because I still don’t know what I want to do with my life. I’m trying to figure it out! I thought I’d know by now.

    As for keeping in practice – it can’t hurt, right?

  2. Kt

    I think these things all come in waves. And seriously – is there something in Baltimore’s water??

    And I don’t know how I feel about 30 – it doesn’t seem like it’s a huge deal to me. It doesn’t seem “old” to me – lots of people are still dating at that point, and get married after 30. I think getting married kind of marks the start of a new kind of life – so maybe that’s why I don’t think it’s old if you’re just starting a new kind of life?

    That made no sense.

    haha – I get what you’re saying. I guess being married and about to turn 30 just seem so… adult? So… I don’t know. I’m still trying to figure my life out!

  3. yeah…currently in my 30th year and still trying to figure out what being an “adult” really means. I guess getting married is a start?

    Well I’m glad I’m not alone in trying to figure out adulthood whilst being in the 30 year old age group!

  4. sjmonk5

    I had a hard time turning 27 for some reason – I’m 29 next week and 30 doesn’t seem so scary – or at least not yet! I just figure nothing can be like when I turned 27 – I felt like I had a midlife crisis!

    Also, watch out for the water! I have so many friends popping out babies too! Three of my bridesmaids included!!!

    I had a hard time with 25 for some reason. The rest of the years just kind of blurred together and now I’m in shock about 30!

    3 of your bridesmaids? That’s crazy!

  5. Factor

    You’re married, own a house, have dogs and degrees. Guess what, you’re way into adulthood. And before 30 too – way to go! 🙂

    Ha! Thanks, Dave – I really needed this. It’s just a weird thing to accept I guess!

  6. sjmonk5

    Yep! More champagne for me 😛

    … and for me!

  7. I just turned 33. I like my 30’s so much better than my 20’s, but I still have this feeling of being an impostor adult. I’m not sure when that will go away. It’s weird.

    Impostor adult. I like that – that completely describes how I feel.

  8. The Chop is turning 30 on Friday. We’ve decided to embrace it because what’s the alternative…? Living and acting like you’re in your early 20’s?

    Go down to Federal Hill or someplace and look around at the 22 year olds. You’ll never hate 30 again. Promise.

    Also… nice theme.

    Ha! I always feel like a senior citizen anytime I go to Fed Hill! When did the bar-hoppers turn into such babies?!

  9. If you think the 20’s went by fast, wait for the 30’s. Holy middle-age, Batman. I’m staring at the 40’s now. They’re at at the end of the sidewalk, but I’m not opening the door for them just yet.

    Thank you for that.

  10. I’ll be 30 at the end of the year, and so far the thought doesn’t bother me. Eh, 30, what’s that? Nothing. If I think about it too hard, I might realize that I’m not where I want to be at 30, but really, I never seem to be where I want to be at any age, so oh well.

    Thirty will be great girl!

    I keep hearing that the 30s are so much better than the 20s. Let’s hope so!

  11. Vonni

    As someone who has spent significant time in her 30’s (I’m almost at the end of the rainbow) it is way better than my 20’s. As for being an adult it is all a state of mind. I keep waking up wondering when I’m going to be a grown up…and I’ve decided NEVER! I like not being an adult if that means I still get to have fun and be stupid once in a while. 🙂

    Vonni – I love you and your wise words!

  12. Jordan

    I feel exactly the same as you! 29- still seemingly unsettled- interested in locking down fundamentals of being an adult (whatever the hell they are) before locking down husband/kids…I still rent my house! Where did time go?
    There are some spots in Federal Hill that I feel notsomuch like a senior citizen in, but that number’s dwindling rapidly.
    Nice to meet you neighbor! 🙂

    Nothing wrong with renting! I kind of wished we didn’t own our current house. As much as I love Baltimore life – I’m getting tired of it (and my turdy neighbors).

    And I’m always happy to find another Baltimore blogger!

Leave a Reply

