I don’t know what to call this post

Through the power of Google – I have discovered (but have also had it pointed to me) that one of the managers I am working with is on Twitter and has his own blog.

While I am a friendly sort – I don’t necessarily like or want to know the personal life of certain people.  And now I’ve gotten a glimpse into the personal life (I couldn’t help myself).

But now I’m concerned.  If he’s saavy enough to be on these networks – he could potentially find this, right?  Oy – what a situation.  I’ve spent the last half hour trying to determine if what I write is offensive.

But I think it would only be offensive if he was one of my douchebag schoolmates or my raging alcoholic good for nothing neighbor.

I think I’m good.

But seriously – I think when you work in a conservative company and you reach a certain work status, you should shut down these types of networks.  Or at least make it so you can’t find it via Google.  Geez.  How can you earn the respect of your subordinates when you post such dorky things?

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

4 responses to “I don’t know what to call this post

  1. What does your boss post about?

    As far as your douchebag schoolmate, you are no longer in school (poof! no more problem) and if your alcoholic of a neighbor could find this blog, well, then, kudos to him. :]

    Haha! I would really be impressed if my neighbor found my blog. 🙂

    And this particular guy posts about uninteresting stuff – however, he did post a rather negative work related item once (a few months ago).

  2. Dude, I think that last sentence might be taken as offensive, you know if I was a manager posting dorky things.

    I won’t friend my boss on facebook, bc 1) he is a tool and 2)I don’t friend people I wouldn’t hang out with outside of work.

    Agreed! I wouldn’t friend any of my bosses on facebook either.

  3. Vonni

    If you really are that worried about it, make the blog private or some such thing. (Can you do that?) Otherwise don’t name names, avoid mentioning the company name and you should be good. This isn’t supremely hard to find, but nothing too offensive is on here. At least nothing worth getting fired/sued over.

    And DO NOT friend work colleagues on your Facebook..that’s just asking for trouble. Separate lives baby..separate lives. 🙂

    I’m usually pretty cautious to NOT blog about work so I think I’m okay. 🙂

    And I actually know of a girl who got fired because she complained about work on Facebook… SHE WAS FRIENDS WITH HER BOSS! Idiot!

  4. The question I have is how long ago was this blog started? It’s very easy to imagine that he started it when he was a little bitty no one, just blogging for the hell of it. Three promotions later, and one of his subordinates finds his little musings.

    I mean, think about it. If you were suddenly promoted tomorrow with five people below you, would you shut down your blog?

    (Also, I think you’re safe. I read you pretty closely, and I have no less respect for you. In fact, I’d like to be you.)

    That is a very good point. I think shutting this down would be really difficult for me.

    And thank you for that compliment!

Leave a Reply

