Needing Some R & R

Lately I’ve been working myself up into a giant ball of stress and insanity.  I’ve been getting extraordinarily upset over things that I have no control over and I really need to fucking stop.

I actually called Jeremy yesterday in tears.  Did I mention I was at work?  Ugh.

I was supposed to run a 5 mile race with my old college roomie (which I should probably stop saying since we haven’t been roommates in about 8 years but that’s how I’ll always refer to her).  I really wanted to do this but…

(1) I forgot that the race was THIS Saturday (I definitely thought it was after St. Patty’s Day) so I am not really prepared. 

(2) Being unprepared scares me because I don’t want to re-injure myself.  I’ve been easing myself back into running post-marathon/ITBS so I haven’t run on pavement yet.  I’m still very scared.

(3) I’ve been a giant bundle of crazy this week and could really use the extra day to try to find some peace.

I tend to stress over things that I can’t change or control.  I really should take a page out of the AA handbook and recite the Serenity Prayer:

God, grant me the serenity
To accept the things I cannot change;
The courage to change the things that I can;
And the wisdom to know the difference.

And no, I’m not an addict but I think these words can apply to my life.

This weekend I plan to RELAX.  I think I need some serious retail therapy (any takers?), a good book (currently reading Craig Ferguson’s “American on Purpose” — I frickin’ love this man) and a lot of sleep.

Ew – this totally sounds very Debbie Downer.  So here’s a picture of my dog Petie as a frenchman.

6 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

6 responses to “Needing Some R & R

  1. Kt

    I’m so proud of you for thinking of the serenity prayer! It’s not just for addicts either – it really is a fantastic saying/prayer to remember that you can only focus on the things you can do something about. The rest is out of our hands!

    Hope you have a very relaxing weekend!

    Thank you!

  2. The far away one

    You sure you’re not preggers?!?!?!

    Ha! I promise you that I am NOT pregnant!

  3. smack

    I like that it says “loading” like he’s got a good deucer on deck

    and he probably does.

  4. Sorry you’re a little down. But sounds like you’re right, you just need a weekend to recoup. Hopefully you got that!

    Thank you – and I did! Nothing like copious amounts of television to relax me. 🙂

  5. angelina

    ~*kimmie! it’s okay! i refer to you as my *old roomie too! LOL! those were the days! well, i’m really glad you didnt run cuz i wouldve felt horrible if it made your knee worse! plus, you wouldve had to wait for me for a while cuz i was NOT prepared for it!

    Haha! Well I do still wish I would have ran it with you! I felt like a slug all weekend.

  6. Hey Kim!
    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now (found you via Lauren at athleat–love it!) and didn’t want to exploit your comments section for a promotion, but I’m a running a contest on my blog that gives a free massage to the winner and it sounds to me like you could really use it! If you’re interested, the details are at my blog Things I Adore: http://thingsiadore.wordpress.com/2010/03/11/massage-giveaway/

    Keep up the great blogging and good luck easing yourself back into running. I know how hard that can be after a long race 🙂 -Claire

    Thanks for commenting! And I don’t mind if you’re promoting a chance to get a free massage! 🙂

Leave a Reply

