Pickle Back Shot

It all started with this:

Pickle Back Shot

Justin Timberlake is claimed to LOVE the “pickle back shot”. It is a shot of whiskey followed by a shot of pickle juice. Seeing that I love both pickles and Justin Timberlake, I thought this was worth a shot (pun not intended… or was it?).

I mentioned this to Jeremy who said he heard about it on the radio and was also intrigued because pickles are delightful.

Sunday night – we went for it. We have an amazingly well-stocked liquor cabinet (with everything from dry gin to rumplemintz *gag* to apparently whiskey — who knew we drank so much?)

The key ingredients:
Pickle Back Shot

The test:
Pickle Back Shot

The reaction:
Pickle Back Shot Reaction

The verdict? Not too shabby.

I’m sure there is some sort of science involved here with pH levels and whatnot – but all I can say is that the pickle juice immediately neutralizes the burn from the whiskey (from your mouth, throat AND stomach).

I’m just hoping bars in Baltimore are well stocked on pickle juice…

12 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Eats

12 responses to “Pickle Back Shot

  1. yess! ha. I love pickle juice. I always add it to my bloody marys!

    Ooh – that sounds really good. I’ll have to try that!

  2. Vonni

    Invite me when you take this one on the road aka Baltimore bars. I’m taking pictures when you ask for whiskey pickle back…b/c the look on the bartender’s face is going to be priceless.

    Haha! You’re so right – I can’t wait for that moment. 🙂

  3. Why would you want to ruin the after-taste of a good whiskey???

    That’s true – I wouldn’t necessarily recommend this with a really good whiskey. But otherwise – its a delight.

  4. Stacy

    Surprisingly we serve them ALL the time at the bar! One day this group of people must have ordered 50 of them – I cringed every time! (I HATE pickles! and whiskey :P) I haven’t seen us run out of pickle juice yet!

    You just made my day! Looks like I’ll be hitting up your bar sometime soon. 🙂

  5. Kt

    OHHHHH I bet I would like this. Something to try in 5 months!

    We’ll celebrate the birth of your baby girl with a pickle back shot. 🙂

  6. I hate shots and never do them, so I probably won’t try this, but I love the idea of shooting pickle juice. My old roommate used to drink it straight from the jar, which seemed weird, but I get it. Because pickle juice is good!

    It really is! I could probably drink it straight from the jar (outside of shooting it). I’m surprised they don’t sell pickle juice in stores.

  7. Stacy

    Yah! We even have a button on the register that says “Pickle Back Shot”

    You people are crazy!! 😛

    Sweet!

    And you just need to accept that pickle juice is good!

  8. Kathi

    The owners of Whiskey Town and Whiskey Tavern in NYC have been serving this for a long time. Can’t be beat.

    I googled this shot and it seems it has been around for a long time! I’m so behind the times. It is awesome.

  9. mainlyclearskies

    I haven’t been able to drink whiskey since one very bad night many years ago. But I’m willing to give this a try. I love pickles.

    I probably should steer clear of it as well (based on a very bad night) but I’m telling you — the pickle juice makes it fabulous. I just don’t recommend doing like 10 shots of it. 🙂

  10. um … that’s kind of … AWESOME

    It really is.

  11. Pingback: Crap – ology « Charm City Kim

  12. Pingback: The Dog Days Are Over: Anti-Couric | The CuT

Leave a Reply

