Dream Interpretations

I love dreams.  They sometimes fill me with joy or they make me wonder what the fuck is wrong with me to think of such crazy things.  I have a lot of dreams where someone is trying to kill me and I think that stems from my ill-spent teenage years reading True Crime novels, watching horror or suspense thriller movies and too much Law & Order.

However, when I get the weird ones – I love looking up what they might mean.

The other night I dreamt that I got plastic surgery to make my eyes bigger.  If you’re familiar with the Asian culture, many Asians get their eyelids reshaped to create a crease (Asian blepharoplasty).  While it may sound totally wacky – I’ve known plenty of Asians that have gotten this done and it really does make a difference.

However, I’m a half breed so I already have a crease.  I think this dream was sparked from watching the recent Oprah episode where Lisa Ling traveled to China to reveal how their culture has changed in terms of beauty regimens.

Anywho.  I went in to get my eyes enlarged and when I woke up, my eyes were HUGE and my cheeks felt weird.  I looked in a mirror and saw that I had a permanent look of sucking in my cheeks.  Apparently the good surgeon though my face was “too round” and thought I could use a little reshaping so he sewed the insides of my cheeks. 

And I cried.  And freaked out.  Not because I looked stupid but because I would never be able to open my mouth wide enough to put my fist in it.  (Yes, I can do that — it is a great party trick that amazes and horrifies my friends.)

So I looked it up:

Surgery
To dream that you or someone else is undergoing surgery, signifies the opening of the Self and/or the need for emotional healing. You need to “cut out” or eliminate something from your life. Alternatively, you are feeling the influence of some authority figure. A more literal interpretation of this dream may reflect your concerns about upcoming surgery or about your health.

Whoa – that’s a bit heavy, isn’t it?  Or maybe not.  I have been feeling stressed – maybe I do need to “cut out” something from my life.  But wait…

Plastic Surgery
To dream that you are having plastic surgery, suggests that you are rebuilding your self-esteem and trying to improve your self-image. The dream may also occur if you are considering plastic surgery or scheduled to go in for plastic surgery.

Wow – that’s a bit much too.  Either I’m emotionally frazzled or I have low self esteem.

This game isn’t fun anymore.

Last night I had a dream that a married couple I know announced that they were pregnant.  However, they are people that (1) party really hard and (2) should not have kids.  In my dream I got really angry.  I think this dream stemmed from the fact that there are at least 7 women that I know of at the moment who are pregnant.  7.  And now I keep hearing the chatter of having babies.

I tried to look up pregnancy but the interpretations were all about if I dreamt that I was pregnant so I looked up Angry instead.

Anger
To dream that you are holding or expressing anger, symbolizes frustrations and disappointments in your Self. You tend to repress your negative emotions or project your anger onto others. You need to look within yourself.

Being angry in your dream may have been carried over from your waking life. Dreams can function as a safe outlet where you can express your strong and/or negative emotions. You have some suppressed anger and aggression that you have not consciously acknowledged.

Yeesh.  Maybe there IS something to these interpretations.

Apparently I’m more upset and down about myself that I thought!  I swear I’m feeling fine these days. 

What crazy dreams have you had lately?

5 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Rambles

5 responses to “Dream Interpretations

  1. Kt

    I hate looking into my dreams – it freaks me out because a lot of times my dreams are sad or scary. I have lots of dreams about family members dying and I always wake up sad. I don’t really want to think about what it means – I just want to forget it ever happened!

    I have those every so often and also try to forget it! I woke up once in tears and actually had to call my mom just to tell her I loved her!

  2. Meredith

    I rarely remember my dreams but this week was one of those rare occasions that I did remember. I have been tasked with keeping the spreadsheet of RSVP’s for the bridal shower my cousin and I are throwing. In my dream I was fielding a million calls from people RSVPing (mostly men…wtf?) but the one that sticks out…Leonardo DiCaprio called to let me know he’d been attending both the shower AND the wedding. I recounted the dream to the bride-to-be who informed me that he is her favorite actor and Romeo and Juliet is her favorite movie. So now I’m freaked out.

    Yikes! That is weird. You’re psychic!! Jeremy told me this morning that he dreamt we were invited to someone’s house… and we were (but I forgot to tell him about it). So weird.

  3. sjmonk5

    I just keep having CRAZY wedding dreams – last night not one person sat on my side at the church! Hahaha…

    Haha! And the dreams will keep on coming until your wedding!

  4. Had to pass along this link after our twitter conversation. I think you will enjoy reading it – along with all the comments.

    http://nachosrule.blogspot.com/2008/07/p90x-best-quotes-and-moments.html

    What is hilarious is that I’ve already seen it! Haha… a friend and I were lamenting about the lame jokes and comments made during the workouts. I wish I still had that convo saved on e-mail… my friend brought up some hilarious quotes!

  5. What I find scary is the meaning of reoccurring dreams. Because they keep reoccurring. 🙂

    Just yesterday I woke up from a really weird dream. In my dream, I had thrown this huge party for an event. It was like a palace full of people eating. Everywhere I went within the palace, people would just start applauding. Then I caught a glimpse of my ex going through the food line. ( We broke up in June 2009 and I have seen or really heard from him since – or vice versa.) We exchanged niceties and I walked away to go check on some things. At the end of the evening, I accidentally-on-purpose ran into him again. We hugged and he kissed me and I started trembling. I hugged him in that please don’t leave me again way. As he walked away, I just kept my back to him and didn’t turn around. I was so proud of myself for that. The weird thing, though, is that it was almost as if I was watching it because when he kissed me and I was trembling, I really felt nothing. Then, yesterday, when I went to the town where he lives to visit my mom and friend, I passed him on the road. I don’t think he saw me, but it was super coincidental.

    That is crazy! I think that type of coincidence would weird me out.

Leave a Reply

