Caught on Film (How My Husband & I both owe the Baltimore Police Money)

Yesterday I came home and grabbed the mail.  I noticed 2 separate envelopes, one addressed to me and one addressed to Jeremy, from the Baltimore Photo Enforcement something or other.

Fuck.  I got a ticket. 

I assumed it was a red light camera ticket since I sometimes play fast and loose with my life (I can’t help it – sometimes the traffic drives me INSANE in Baltimore and I just want to get home.

I was quite shocked when I opened the envelope to see that I had gotten a speeding ticket from one of those speed cameras.

SON OF A BITCH!  I was snapped going 37 mph in a 25 mph school zone.  (for those living in Baltimore, I was snapped going up Pratt Street (from the Inner Harbor to Canton) right before Broadway.  Be careful, drivers!

Of course I was now curious as to what Jeremy might have gotten a ticket for so I opened his envelope (we’re married – I can open his mail, dammit!).

Imagine my surprise when I saw that he was snapped at the SAME LOCATION, on the SAME DATE about an hour after me.  He was traveling 38 mph. The two pictures are nearly identical (partly because we drive the same type of car) and its hilarious (except for the fact that instead of $40 coming out of our checking account, we’re ponying up $80 for our separate offenses).

Pregnancy Update

I meant to post this yesterday.  I was trying to think of clever ways to give pregnancy updates (to the few of you that might actually care).  I’ve seen some bloggers do weekly updates with belly pics, I’ve seen some others that do similar things but break down each update with specific items (like how big is baby? or weird cravings).  Because I don’t want to rip off of others and because I’m secretly obsessed with fashion blogs – I thought I’d do a different spin.

Despite the fact that I dress like a schlub, I love fashion.  I go through cycles where I vow to dress better but old age, a desk job in an office filled with soccer moms (and only a handful of fashion forward women that I envy) and the fact that I now am concerned about my finances has generally kept me from going off my rocker with clothes.  I now dress for comfort.  I don’t really splurge a lot on clothes (despite loving them).  I’m pretty sure Jeremy is reading this post yelling, “bullshit!” because he thinks I spend way too much money on clothing.  ANYWHO.

With this pregnancy, I’m being incredibly cheap about maternity clothes.  I’ve seen some uber cute maternity fashion, however, I have a really hard time plunking down lots of cash for something that I won’t be wearing long-term.  So what I’ve been doing is trying to stretch my current wardrobe as far as it can go (god bless the BeBand!).  However, I can see myself falling into schlub-city hardcore as things aren’t buttoning and I’m favoring stretch fabrics over anything structured these days.

SO… as a pregnancy update, I thought I’d post a “what am I wearing?”.  This way – I’ll try to stay on top of not looking like a mess, you can see my expanding belly, you can see how far I am able to stretch my current wardrobe or you can completely skip this section.  I’ll try to throw in a weird or fun pregnancy symptom that has popped up that day or week.  Here goes…

Wednesday, September 1st

I had this idea yesterday so I snapped this photo with my phone in my office bathroom.  Please excuse the poor lighting.  I’ll try to do a better job.

I’m wearing a dress that I bought at Macy’s about 2-3 years ago.  It was on sale and I loved the pattern.  At the time, it was a little too big but I didn’t care… it was on sale!  Needless to say, since it was a little big – I thought it made me look bigger than I was (or pregnant) so I never wore it much.  Now that I AM bigger, I’m finally getting some wear out of it.

I paired this dress with my favorite peep-toe pumps that I purchased at Target about 2 years ago.  However, I realized that my feet have grown so these shoes were surprisingly uncomfortable to walk in for several blocks.

I only wore this with a pair of silver stud earrings.  I avoid short necklaces now because I think it highlights my small patch of chest acne (a fun pregnancy symptom!).

Weird / Fun Pregnancy symptom:  So maybe this isn’t weird as much as it is annoying.  I have this dull ache right around my rib cage.  The achiness is more apparent on my right side.  It feels like I have a lot of pressure against my ribs and it sucks.  My lower back is also starting to ache like a motherfucker.

I keep reading all of these baby blogs, forums, articles, books (seriously- I’m reading everything) that says I should be able to feel my baby move any day now.  And I haven’t felt squat.  I’m not going to lie – it concerns me but everyone says it comes at different times.  I’ve read that it’ll feel like a little flutter, a light tapping or like a bubble popping inside me (and that I may mistake it for a hunger pang or gas… lovely).  Jeremy keeps putting his hand on my belly and commanding that the baby move.  Nothing.  Nada.  Come on baby, MOVE!

8 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds, Charm City Kim Rambles

8 responses to “Caught on Film (How My Husband & I both owe the Baltimore Police Money)

  1. Baltimore is making a killing in that spot because Kevin got 3 speeding tickets in that same spot on Pratt! He drives home from work that way every day. The funny thing was that all of the tickets were within a day of each other and then he kept getting the tickets one day after another.

    cute dress!

  2. Meredith

    95S just before the Route 40 exit and Northern Parkway by Perring in a school zone (this one is work-related as my major project is right there so I anticipate more coming my way – need to see if I can expense those suckers!). I hate those flippin’ cameras!

    But I LOVE your dress. So adorable!!

  3. Melissa

    Love the dress – you look great!

  4. I love the updates.

    I always cuss the photo light things. Are these ones that they have posted or are they ones you don’t know about?

  5. Can we have a quick convo about how I read your post title as “[We] owe the Baltimore Police MONKEY” and I got really excited and considered moving to MD b/c it must be awesome there if they have a police monkey.

    Needless to say, dreams=shattered…

  6. Boo for tickets but yay for that dress! Very cute!

    I had a similar-looking dress, but it was an actual maternity dress. http://www.flickr.com/photos/nannersp/2829144005/in/set-72157604597725126/

  7. Aw, speed cameras are lame!

    The baby’s not even born, and already you’re putting the poor thing under pressure! Kidding, kidding, don’t worry, the thing will be tap dancing in no time.

  8. There is a new street in my hometown that runs through a wooded area with nothing – and I mean *absolutely* nothing – but trees along both sides of the road for a mile or two. It feels like a road where you should be going 40 or 50 mph, but the city has posted 30 mph (okay, 50 kph ’cause it’s in Canada) which means the police can set up shop there anytime their ticket quota is running a little low.

Leave a Reply

