The Tortoise and the Hare (or How I Make Up Lame Competitions in My Head to Motivate Me at the Gym)

I’m happy to report that I’m still running jogging.  While my pace has slowed and I no longer run outside (for fear of falling and because I think it would kill my knees right now) or on an incline on the treadmill… I’m still running 3.25 miles twice a week and that makes me happy.

At the gym today, a gentleman was running next to me and we started around the same time (I had started a few minutes earlier).  While he was running a bit faster than me – I still felt like we were competing.  DO you ever do this at the gym?  I do it all the time but it has been a long time since I’ve felt this competitive spirit.

I wondered if I’d be able to outrun him.  I wondered if he thought, “pffft – this girl with the pot belly can’t outrun me!” and I just kept on running.

And running.

And running.

And then he stopped… and I was still running.  Then I did a victory dance in my head.  I’m sure he ran a longer distance in the end (since he was running faster) but in my head – we were going the same speed and I just outran him… at 4 1/2 months pregnant.

Go me!

Seriously – its the little things that make me happy these days.

But then later in the locker room – some woman that comes in every so often made a comment to another woman that was obviously about me.

There are so many new faces around here.  I guess I need to get here earlier!”  (I guess meaning that space is somewhat limited in the locker room).  I wanted to snap, “I’ve been coming here every weekday for the last 2 1/2 months.  You’ve been here a handful of times.  Back off.”  and then challenge her to a treadmill jog-a-thon.

1 Comment

Filed under Charm City Kim Runs

One response to “The Tortoise and the Hare (or How I Make Up Lame Competitions in My Head to Motivate Me at the Gym)

  1. I do that aaaaaall the time. Even worse, when I’m working out with my Wii Fit in my living room, I will imagine that people I hate are there working out with me, and I’m competing against them.

Leave a Reply

