Bad Baby

Just when you feel like you’ve got the whole parenting thing under control… BAM. Your baby decides to deliver you a big “f you” and throws everything off balance.

Where do I begin? Let’s start with sleep.

AM hasn’t been a good napper at home for as long as I can remember. I haven’t been successful at getting her to nap at home since she has started daycare. Even if I can tell she’s exhausted (rubbing eyes, toddling around like she’s drunk) – if I put her down in her crib, she FLIPS OUT. Her cries are hysterical. I can count on 2 hands how many times I’ve been able to get her to nap in her crib in the last 8 months.

But apparently she naps just fine at daycare.

However, the napping thing has never been that big of an issue for me since she has always (since 6 weeks) been a fantastic night sleeper. I’ve always said how lucky we are to have such a great sleeper. apparently she thought I was getting cocky and wanted to put me in my place…

I think things started Thursday night. After I layed her in her crib, she started to cry as I was walking out the door. This was unusual but I was able to get her to relax by hanging back and just rubbing her belly for a minute.

But then she woke up at 2am. Because this was so unusual, I checked on her (despite the cry not being hysterical) and she was standing in her crib with her arms up (indicating she wants to be picked up). So I picked her up and tried to rock her to sleep. I was successful but as soon as I laid her in her crib… she freaked again. It took an hour to get her back to bed. She woke up again around 5am and I just stayed up with her.

Friday night. Same thing. I layed her down and she cried when I started to leave. I had to hang back and rub her belly for a few minutes until she relaxed and left.

3am crying. We thought that perhaps she’s in pain? We gave her ibuprofen. No change. I fed her. no change. We changed her diaper. No change. I was with her for an HOUR.

Saturday night. Can you guess? SAME F’N THING. We went through the whole routine but it is clear that there is nothing physically wrong with her.

I would rub her back and as she started to nod off to sleep, she would jerk her head up to make sure I was still there. Another HOUR of hanging back in her room.

Last night I declared that we would let her cry it out. Yes yes, I am a terrible person. But her cries are not the hysterical “I’m in pain!” cries. I know those cries. But she kept it up for nearly 30 minutes. I went into her room and rubbed her back. Another 30 minutes.

And on top of this newfound “I hate sleep” attitude, she’s also turned into a BITER. I have THAT child.

Here’s Hannibal Lector eyeballing her friend, sock Monkey…
Week 50 Outtake

And then she chomps down…
Week 50 Jan 22 2012

So now imagine that the sock monkey in an 18 month old boy. And imagine that you think your sweet little baby is just giving him a sloppy kiss on the cheek. And then after you’ve “aaaawwed!” you see the look of pain and terror in the little boy’s eyes and see a chunk of his cheek in between your baby’s teeth.

Yeah, that.

GUys, I don’t know what to do (between the sleeping and the biting of other children).

She doesn’t have a fever. She isn’t showing any signs of teething. Someone suggested a growth spurt but I’m not sure. She does seem to eat more during the day but I’ve been trying to keep up. However, when I feed her at night – she is still upset when I try to put her into her crib.

A part of me thinks it seems like she’s showing signs of separation anxiety but she doesn’t do this anywhere else.

I am baffled. And very very very very very (did I mention very?) tired.

Please offer some words of wisdom.

4 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Breeds

4 responses to “Bad Baby

  1. No words of wisdom here. Meeka has NEVER been a good sleeper, and she’s now, um, worse. Yeah. This week we (re)start sleep training, and needless to say, I’m *not* going to be getting any sleep myself. I’ve already stocked up on coffee…

    As for the biting – Meeks actually does this, too. Except I’m the only one she bites. (Except noses. She bites everyone’s noses) She actually bit my ankle the other day, and I had to explain that “ankle-biter” was meant to be metaphorical. (I don’t think she got it) Usually a loud “NO!” works, and she won’t bite (the same body part) again (she just finds a different one. Luckily, I think she’s pretty much covered them all at this point) … I’m pretty sure in our case it’s partially because she’s teething and partially because she’s looking for the boob (hence, only biting me) – perhaps the teething thing is what’s gotten to AM?

    GOOD LUCK!

  2. Meredith

    I think the biting is a phase – I remember my cousin’s little one going thru it when she was about AM’s age. Nat left a few marks on a few kids at daycare and my cousin was absolutely horrified and embarrassed. We kept joking she was going to get kicked out but it seemed to pass pretty quickly. Hang in there!

  3. Hey Kim,
    Sounds like AM is having sleep regression, something VERY typical for the age she is. She’ll probably do it again around 18 months. Just google “sleep regressions” and you should be able to read about what to do. This has happened with C before and we were baffled til we realized it was normal and that she would quickly outgrow it. Even now every once in awhile she’ll wake at 2 or 3 am for fun. I wish you luck! Try to get some sleep! Sorry you’re going through this, but it WILL end. Beth

  4. When our cats showed signs of separation anxiety we bought them special calming pheromone collars. Maybe you could get a calming collar for AM?

    Well, I’m out of ideas.

Leave a Reply

