Daily Archives: May 11, 2012

Pinteractive: Maxi Skirt

Hey there – it has been awhile since I’ve gotten “pinteractive”.  I was on a roll for awhile but then totally dropped the ball.

I’m not particularly proud of this project.  I initially set out to sew my own maxi skirt (after pinning this seemingly easy tutorial) because I figured it might have ended up being pretty cost effective and I could ensure a proper length.  Being on the tall side (I’m 5’8″ so I’m not a giant but you’d think I was in some stores), I have a hard time with inseams and skirt length.  However, after seeing SO MANY inexpensive maxi skirts – I realized that this was not cost effective.

Anyways.  My biggest lesson learned here is that sewing with jersey knit is HARD.  The fabric is so stretchy and sort of heavy that it isn’t easy to sew a straight line.  I also learned that I really need to read tutorials more carefully.  I hadn’t bothered to ensure that I bought the appropriate amount of fabric.  So I bought a lot of black jersey knit fabric… but just not enough for a maxi skirt.  So I had to go back but this time I could only find enough in the purple jersey knit.

Basically I spent an ass load of money on fabric for what I thought would be a cost effective project.

I didn’t snap pictures along the way because I spent so much time getting frustrated.
Cutting out fabric

The other pain in the ass?  I don’t have a large enough cutting board.  And since this fabric isn’t stiff, I had a really hard time cutting it out.

Some things I gave up because I was so frustrated with this project was hemming anything.  I still haven’t cut the skirt to the appropriate length yet but here’s the almost final project:

diy maxi skirt
I definitely need to get a few more sewing projects under my belt (with cotton fabric!) before I attempt another jersey knit.

Nannersp

3 Comments

Filed under Charm City Kim Creates